Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Followed this recipe exactly and the cookies turned out great! Did not have issues with cookies breaking, except where I rolled the dough out too thinly. Delicious and great for using cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I used this recipe to make chocolate bunnies for Easter. The first batch I let sit on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes as the recipe says, which turned out to be a big mistake. They got hard and I had to chisel them off the cookie sheet, breaking them all into pieces. They need to be removed from the cookie sheet while they're still soft and warm. Other than that, they were good, but I wouldn't say they are the "best ever", so I gave them 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very easy to work with and the cookies came out sturdy but still chewy. I think I baked mine for a bit longer because I wanted to ensure a sturdier cookie since I was going to be using it as a cake topper. These do taste like a crunchy/chewy brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I was so disappointed with how these cookies turned out. I even added vanilla and they were so bitter chocolatey! They were also very crumbly almost like burnt edges of a brownie. I only cooked them for 7 minutes like some others suggested (and also, I love soft cookies) and they were awful. I consider myself an intermediate baker but these wouldn't even work out for experts. Most of the reviews that are positive, the person had to tweak the recipe. It was most definitely not "the best chocolate cutout cookie you have ever tasted" as the description says...on to find a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sallee Bonham
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I will be making this recipe again and again. I wanted a chocolate cut out dough to make reindeer cookies with. This recipe is perfect. The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup margarine so it would be a little more budget friendly. If you like dark chocolate, you will like this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sallee Bonham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Sooo yummy! Followed the advice to add the egg yolk and vanilla and also stuck some cinnamon in and they are awesome. Froze the dough to save time and it was sticky but used extra cocoa. Minor mess but the end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parteecia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious. Love the brownie flavor. Only change was to skip the chill and instead roll out on a cold marble slab. Oh, and sometimes use butter flavor Crisco instead of butter. Dough was a breeze to work with. Rolled and cut out easily with no crumbling or breaking. Held its shape well. I use it for the Wilton 3D cookie Christmas tree (photo uploaded).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
These taste really good, dense and chocolaty. The only issue I had is that the dough is delicate. I tried to use a cookie cutter with small parts and the dough ripped a lot. So I switched to a simple/easy cutter and had no problems. Keep in mind this recipe does not make a lot of cookies. I used a "regular" size heart cutter and it made 24, not 36 cookies. But I love the chocolaty taste of these! would be great for homemade chocolate sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These cookies taste just like brownies! They are much better when they are thicker. I would suggest adding more flour to the batter though, because it can get very sticky when rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindybee23
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I used vanilla as other reviewers suggested. The dough was crumbly, but once I kneaded it a little it rolled out fine no problem. I used this recipe to make graduation cookie pops and uploaded a photo to the gallery. It worked so well and I was happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States