Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I was so disappointed with how these cookies turned out. I even added vanilla and they were so bitter chocolatey! They were also very crumbly almost like burnt edges of a brownie. I only cooked them for 7 minutes like some others suggested (and also, I love soft cookies) and they were awful. I consider myself an intermediate baker but these wouldn't even work out for experts. Most of the reviews that are positive, the person had to tweak the recipe. It was most definitely not "the best chocolate cutout cookie you have ever tasted" as the description says...on to find a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belleharleygal
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I will be making this recipe again and again. I wanted a chocolate cut out dough to make reindeer cookies with. This recipe is perfect. The only change I made was to use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup margarine so it would be a little more budget friendly. If you like dark chocolate, you will like this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belleharleygal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Sooo yummy! Followed the advice to add the egg yolk and vanilla and also stuck some cinnamon in and they are awesome. Froze the dough to save time and it was sticky but used extra cocoa. Minor mess but the end result is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parteecia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Easy and delicious. Love the brownie flavor. Only change was to skip the chill and instead roll out on a cold marble slab. Oh, and sometimes use butter flavor Crisco instead of butter. Dough was a breeze to work with. Rolled and cut out easily with no crumbling or breaking. Held its shape well. I use it for the Wilton 3D cookie Christmas tree (photo uploaded).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
These taste really good, dense and chocolaty. The only issue I had is that the dough is delicate. I tried to use a cookie cutter with small parts and the dough ripped a lot. So I switched to a simple/easy cutter and had no problems. Keep in mind this recipe does not make a lot of cookies. I used a "regular" size heart cutter and it made 24, not 36 cookies. But I love the chocolaty taste of these! would be great for homemade chocolate sandwich cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
These cookies taste just like brownies! They are much better when they are thicker. I would suggest adding more flour to the batter though, because it can get very sticky when rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindybee23
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I used vanilla as other reviewers suggested. The dough was crumbly, but once I kneaded it a little it rolled out fine no problem. I used this recipe to make graduation cookie pops and uploaded a photo to the gallery. It worked so well and I was happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Really good. I'll likely make these again. The dough held its shape really well with my cutters, the cookies ended up a little chewy and a little crisp (depends on thickness of course). I used some extra cocoa to dust during rolling/working with the dough, and it worked really well, but the cookies did end up being just a tad unsweet, IMO. A nice sweet frosting would probably be amazing. We ate them cutout, but plain, though, and still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Followed other cook's suggestion of adding 1 tsp vanilla and 1 egg yolk. Rolled dough out to 1/4 inch thick & baked on parchment. Cookies are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RZV

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
These turned out great for me. I didn't bother chilling the dough (I was in a hurry - had to make these as a last-minute holiday gift) and they still turned out fine, the dough pulled apart a little bit when I was rolling it out but wasn't too sticky or hard to work. I added just a little bit of vanilla and topped these off with a drizzle of simple homemade caramel. These cookies were just the right amount of sweet and chocolately and turned out with a nice soft texture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States