Best-Ever Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My family and friends raved over this! It is so easy and basically one bowl to clean. For a b'day I added chopped peanuts and sliced bananas between the layers and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shorewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This cake is tasty. I would recommend having it as a summer dessert because it's stored in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Daycare Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
WOW....I have serious doubts about this recipe. Would it be flat without eggs- or not rich with two cups of water?? It was amazing. The cake is rich and the texture and taste is superb. Much better than a box cake but almost as easy! The icing is light and pudding like and kept it from being to incredibly rich. But, if you are a real chocolate lover and want the total rich chocolate experience maybe try another icing. For me this one was perfect. All who tried it loved it and were amazed that the simple recipe could produce this cake! Thanks for the recipe. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This cake is pretty foolproof and super moist. I only had raspberry vinegar on hand, and I used one tsp. vanilla and one tsp. almond extract just for fun. The finished product was very chocolaty with slight fruit undertones. Yummy. The light, fluffy frosting balanced the dense, moist cake very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I did not think this was the best ever chocolate cake. Maybe I was expecting too much out of an eggless, milkless cake after reading all the great reviews, but I was a bit disappointed. The frosting, however, was quite tasty, and I will probably try it on another cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eater
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
After baking a few rounds of 'Too Much Chocolate Cake' by Denise, decided to try out this start from basic recipe. From the collective reviews, I did some alterations. Replaced water with low fat milk, add 2 egg yolks, 1 tsp coffee powder. Used 60g cocoa, reduced flour to 340g, reduced sugar to 1.5cup (not a sweet tooth person). The cake turned out to be light, fluffy n moist with rich chocolate taste. Not crumpy despite the relatively low fat content (egg yolk helped too). Unfortunately 2 tsp baking soda gave a strong alkali after taste. The cake is cooked thru in 3omin. The frosting was fluffy but the low fat low sugar pudding I used lack chocolate flavour. Add in some cocoa. Used all purpose cream instead of whipped topping cos it's expensive here. Will try again with less baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bucket of cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This cake is unbelievable very fluffy, moist and chocolatey simply delicious and it was AMAZING :) and for a cake that didn't need milk or eggs I was very very impressed! and this will be the only Chocolate Cake I will make from now on.... THANK YOU FOR SHARING Best-Ever Chocolate Cake. Your right the name say's it all. TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I just have to say AMAZING :) I don't know a lot about baking/cooking, but for a cake that doesn't need milk or eggs...WOW! So moist :) I will definitely make this for my husbands birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Not only is it eggless (my friends from India were overjoyed!) it was awesome everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOOT77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Wow!!! I made this cake for a kids party and everyone loved it! It came out so moist and yummy. I did add 1 cup of mini chocolate chips to make it extra chocolatey. The fluffy icing is delicious we used chocolate pudding mix and chocolate cool whip. Unfortunately in the end we wended up needing a more firm buttercream icing. I will use this recipe for a long time. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States