Best-Ever Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Followed to the letter. Not enough chocolate taste for me, but the texture was good. I think next time I'd double the amount of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This cake was AMAZING!! I was VERY worried about the no eggs... But I was in charge of dessert at my boyfriend's family dinner and his young cousin is allergic to eggs so I wanted to make something he could enjoy as well. It was so moist and delicious. If I didn't tell anyone that it didn't have eggs I bet they would have never guessed. I didn't change anything except I made my own icing. It was for a Christmas dinner so I made my own icing with icing sugar, butter, milk, and peppermint extract and decorated with smashed up pieces of candy cane around the sides and then two mini candy canes in the middle to make a heart. It looked very cute - I wish I got pictures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is an fantastic recipe. Just the kind I like, quick very little mess and best of all it tastes great! I made it for my son's 3rd birthday and it was a HUGE hit. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!! (I did use milk instead of water, only change I made.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is my go-to recipe for a chocolate cake. It's everyone's favorite. My daughter is allergic to milk and we have friends allergic to eggs, so I make just the cake part for birthdays etc and then everyone can have some (but don't get me wrong, I love the topping!). The cake is moist and chocolatey. I never change the recipe and it's great. I've made it as a sheet cake, layers, cup cakes and even turned it into a ladybug for a birthday party. If you're making it in layers or a shaped pan that it needs to come out of, I've found it's best to grease the pan with shortening (I know, I know, but trust me!) and then dust it with cocoa. Since doing that, I've never had problems with it coming out in pieces. If you're looking for a great cake, stop here, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanna Heebner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made two round cakes with the intent to stack them however the cakes crumbled. I ended up transfering the cake to a casserole dish and had to serve it with a spoon. A sheet cake would probably not have this problem; although we have made better tasting cakes and will probably not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Made this for a birthday. It was so easy, I also added an extra TBS of cocoa in the batter. Frosting was so light and perfect for a summer dessert. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Aviles LaFrance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Great cake! Followed the directions exactly and then frosted with a white icing from this site. Don't be nervous if it smells like it's burning within the time specified, it's fine! I'll be keeping this recipe, it was very easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I only made the cake part of the recipe and lemme tell ya, it's YUMMY. It's a tad bit crumbly, but the flavor and texture of the cake is very good and moist. I had to shoo away husband from the cake batter b/c he was eating it all up! It's really very yum! I've been looking for a simple GOOD cake recipe and this definitely is both of those. It took around 42 mins for mine to bake. EDIT: I've now made this cake about 5 times and each time it's still wonderful. No whipped topping still, but I'll def make it next time :) Have it in the oven right now baking. Added about a half cup of chopped walnuts to the batter. Can't wait to see how it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have been on a quest for the perfect chocolate cake recipe and I can finally stop searching! This cake is a slam dunk and it is SOOOO quick and easy. I made two rounds and baked them for more like 30 minutes and they were perfect. I did half water/half milk for the liquid but I'm not sure if it made a difference either way. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I was pretty disappointed with this one. I make cakes often and thought I would give this one a go. It was tough...I don't know if it is too much flour or what, but it just didn't sit well with us. Thanks, but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States