Best-Ever Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is definitely the best chocolate cake ever! It is SO rich and yummy, I bake it all the time for my family and I just love it. Easy to bake, children can do it. I used a buttercream icing and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great! My Husband says this is the best cake I have made so far! Like PP had suggested, I added 2 egg yolk and substituted water for milk. Also, I added 1 xtra tbsp of cocoa. Baked for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I will pass this cake recipe on to my vegan friends... It was good for a vegan chocolate cake... but I was hoping for simply a great chocolate cake... which it wasn't. Chewy, kinda like a well done brownie. It also wasn't very chocolaty. And took much much longer to bake than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is an absolutely delicious cake! I was able to serve this cake to a child with milk/ eggs allergy (excluding icing, I made one without milk). This cake was even better the next day. Moist, light... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
had to make a few tweaks cause I didnt have everything but it totally worked out. Instead of vanilla - used 2 tsp maple flavoring instead of white vinegar - used apple cider vinegar added 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. Over all... one of the best cakes I have ever had. Make it...eat it ... love IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brown_mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this cake for my dad's birthday. Its a great, easy way to make homemade chocolate cake. I subbed 2% milk for the water which I think made a difference. The cake was very tasty, not too rich, and the frosting was so easy to make (and better for you than store bought!). The chocolate flavor wasn't too strong. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I didnt think this cake was very good. Very bland...plain. Not much of chocolate flavor at all. The frosting however is delicious. Very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This cake was very good, but not very chocolately. So if youre a chocoholic you may think of adding more cocoa. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This cake turns out amazingly!! The cake is gone in before you know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This recipe really is AMAZING! When i fount it, i strongly doubted that it would be "the best-ever" chocolate cake... until i tried it! Didn't work so great without baking powder for me, but the taste was unbelievable! I tried then the next day adding some baking powder and using both baking cocoa (50% cocoa) and cocoa powder (100% cocoa). I also cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, and added 1 tbs chocolate powder (nesquik). Everybody loved it! It really is now my favorite chocolate cake recipe! Thank you SO much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States