Best-Ever Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Disappointing. Followed the recipe as written. Looked like chocolate cake, tasted like some weird flavor but not chocolate. Maybe should have used more cocoa or added chocolate pudding. Who know? Won't make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
If I make a cake, this is THE ONE I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Love this cake. My copy from the magazine is tattered and work since I make it so often! Since July 2003!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This cake is easy to make but definitely not sweet enough. The cake is very watered down and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This cake is very simple to make. Based on the reviews, I also used milk and just a bit more cocoa for a chocolatier flavor. For anyone who doesn't want to use eggs in a cake, this is a great recipe! I gave it 4 stars, because I prefer a little bit denser texture. Overall, this is a great recipe and I will most likely make it again! I didn't try the frosting recipe. I frosted it with whipping cream that I whipped with powdered sugar and vanilla. Then I garnished the top with a drizzle of chocolate rum sauce, chocolate dipped raspberries, and I chocolate dipped strawberry right in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Bakken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
When I was done mixing the batter, I was a little nervous. It was really runny, and ALOT of it. I made this for cupcakes and I tested one that wasnt very big and Im really amazed for a eggless and milkless cake.. Its moist, not too crumbly, just a hint of chocolate, which is great when you are using a powerfully sweet frosting. This recipe made about 32 cupcakes which I made 2 different frostings. Espresso and Peanut Butter and they were a SMASH! I couldnt keep them long enough! Great cake! Although, if you are looking for a chocolate flavor add about a tablespoon of NesQuik to get that big cocoa taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Oh MY!!! My 13 year old son made this for us last night. It is by FAR the BEST chocolate cake I have ever eaten, it was so moist and chocolatey, My son made a mocha frosting to go with it. All I can say is YUMMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellyb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is TOTALLY the best chocolate cake in the world! I ADORE this cake! I made it 3 times and I am making it again tomorrow for a school function, and since it's nut free/egg free, it is PERFECT! Thanks SOOOO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Definitely not enough chocolate. Interesting texture, I liked it and so did 50% of my six taste testers, but some were put off by it. I think it would be better described as a fudge cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was looking for a great stand by chocolate recipe for cupcakes. I found it!! This recipe is absolutely perfect! I bake them for about 20 minutes and this recipe makes approx. 2 dozen. I then used an apple corer and removed the centre and filled it with the chocolate pudding frosting recipe below and also iced the top with it. I sent some with my husband who is a Registered Nurse and all the Nurses said it was the best chocolate cupcake they have ever tasted. My search is over as I will be using this recipe from now on, and never have to worry about running out of eggs. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States