Best Ever Cheese Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
It all stuck together! It never firmed up and was one big soft mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
i make half-batches of this (with 1tsp vanilla), and i have a few suggestions as well. as another reviewer suggested, i always sift together the powdered sugar and cocoa, then add the cheese mixture to the dry ingredients. i also use 1/2c walnut pieces instead of the peanuts. i spray an 8"x8" or 9"x9" pan with nonstick spray, then press the fudge firmly into it to cool. sometimes, i find it necessary to blot excess butter or grease from the top with paper towels. by the way, i have used lowfat velveeta with no problems! and one last thing: a variation i love is to substitute 1tsp cherry extract for the vanilla (again, in half batches) and 1/2c dried cherries, chopped, for the nuts -- it's always a hit for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. It makes a very smooth, creamy and chewy fudge. It reminds me of fudge I've gotten from bakeries. It does makes huge amounts, so halve it unless you're cooking it for a big party. It works best if you sift your confectioners sugar and cocoa to get rid of lumps. It's easy to make, but does require lots of stirring. It gets stiff very quickly, so I wound up kneading it with my hands. I took it to a party and everyone raved over it. I do think it's best not to tell people what is in it until they've made their mind up about it. Some people are very suggestible, and if you tell them it has cheese in it, the cheese will be all that they taste. Otherwise, you really don't notice the cheese. I used Velveeta and it worked nicely. I also substituted 2 cups chopped pecans for the peanuts, and I thought that was about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
We have made this for years -- we never cook it. We simply put it all in a big bowl and either mix it with our hands or use the mixer with a bread hook. Use no-salt butter and make sure everything is room temperature. I use half dry milk and half powdered sugar. It's not so sickly sweet that way. Make sure your dry milk is very finely granulated if you do this. Also yummy with lots and lots of chopped pecans in it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This makes a huge amount of very delicious fudge. I wish I had halved the recipe, because it took a very large mixing bowl and quite a while to mix in all that powdered sugar (I actually burned up the motor on my cheap hand mixer) so I recommend a large table mixer with a dough hook. The texture is to die for, though! Definitely worth it, and you can NOT taste the Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This recipe didn't go over so well at the family get-together. Even the kids didn't eat it. It was very smooth although rubbery in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I was very skeptical about trying this but found it to interesting to pass up. I made it and tried it myself first and was amazed at how good it was so I took it to my family's get together for Christmas and everyone loved it. I only made 1/2 the recipe and put it in an 8x8 dish - also left out the peanuts. It was the easiest and probably the creamiest fudget I ever made - I'm keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I followed this recipe to the letter but it failed. It was a big gooey mess. I have eaten this fudge before and it was delicious so perhaps I did something wrong. It is a cold day here in Texas and the pans I used, I sprayed with PAM to keep it from sticking. I left it in the 'frig for 2 hours and it still would not hardened. So back to regular fudge for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
This is the best fudge ever and the perfect fudge texture. It's also not too sweet like some fudges. If it didn't come out good then you must have messed up when you were making it, which is hard to do since it's a really easy recipe....I hope you enjoy as much as my family and I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
One of the easiet and best fudge recipes I've used. I make it every year and everyone loves it and is always surprised when I tell them what's in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States