Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
OMG! This is unbelievable! I THINK you should go for the 8X8 pan! and not 9X13, this is made to be thick and juicy! the topping is unbelievable! and what i did, i had a jar of smuckers caramel, nuked it for 45-50 mins, pour some over the apples and the topping, you dont need much, this is a very filling desert! p.S my husband doesnt like apple crisp (cinnamon thing!) He loved this dessert! and i served it with a big dollop of cool whip! mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACKERMOM04
Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I changed a lot of items in this recipe, so I don't know how fair of a rating this really is. First, I had previously frozen pie filling from the summer that I used and I did just use a jar of the caramel topping. I followed others' advice and added the caramel first and then the crumble topping (which is fantastic). I was able to fit this in the dish called for although others recommended a larger one. My husband and I really loved this dish and still ate the leftovers even though the topping had gotten quite soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rigby, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I have to make this every time my sister-in-law comes to town because she loves it so much (as does the rest of the family). I save time by using the caramel bits in a package so you don't have to unwrap each caramel individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
delicious! i made the caramel using a half pint of heavy cream slowly added to a stick of butter, a cup of sugar, and 1/4 cup of brown sugar on medium heat. you shouldn't use all of it though cause its a lot. my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
It was tasty but, too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was really good; lots of compliments. I am going to cut back on the crumb portion of the recipe. It made a nice crust, but I had too much left over. The caramel really set it off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Yummy but a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Thought it was way too sweet, but my fiance loved it. I will reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is awesome stuff!! I doubled the flour, lemon juice and cinnamon. Then I drizzled caramel ice cream syrup over the apples, put the topping on and drizzled more caramel over that instead of making the sauce listed in the recipe. This HAS to be served with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent - add more caramels next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States