Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
recipe is delicious but I have a few suggestions that really make it a five star rating for me: Drizzle the caramel over the apple mixture THEN top with the crumb mixture. Makes the crumb top stay crunchy. Use only about 1/2 of the caramel mixture. Save the rest for another use. 12 servings? yes, if they're small. I'd say 6-8 servings is more realistic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this tonight and it was delicious. I halved the recipe and it fit into a 8x8 glass pan. After reading other reviews, I did spray the pan with Pam and add the caramel (I used caramel dip) over the apples. I will definitely be making this again, however, I think I will try adding a little apple pie spice and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by withlovejaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Best apple crisp I have ever eaten!!! My mother said it was out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
We went looking for an apple dessert that added caramel to the recipe. When I saw the name of this dish, I had to give it a try.....and it delivered! It truly is the "best ever". Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I'd never made an apple crisp before so can't say if this is the "best ever" but it's really good! And quite easy to make, the most difficult and time consuming part was peeling apples. I took the advice of other reviewers and used a 9x13 pan, increased the cinnamon, put the caramel under the crumble, and used 1 packet of instant vanilla pudding in place of some of the flour in the crumble. I also used apple juice instead of water in the apple mixture, and added a splash of vanilla extract. It was a bit on the 'too sweet' side, but I did use way more caramel than a 'drizzle' so my fault! Everyone liked it though, my brother had two big pieces even after commenting that it was really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was good but I don't think it was worth all the extra calories. I will stick with the traditional apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
YUMMY!!! I cut the white sugar in half (1/4c.) and doubled the cinnamon (1tsp). I also used "hot caramel" icecream topping (the kind that's ok to heat) and poured it into sliced apples before adding crumble topping. Very rich and sweet! I sprayed my pan with PAM before filling and had no problems with clean-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I agree that it must go in a 9X13 pan. It is a great dessert, but I just wish it didn't take so long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
this definitely was the best ever!! It was almost too good! not good for my waistline! I couldn't stop eating it. I ate mine with vanilla ice cream and used some of the left over caramel over it.. omg it was the best thing I've ever made! I sprayed the caserole dish with cooking spray before baking. it makes it easier to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreedyGretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sylva, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Delicious warm with vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States