Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
The filling was very good in this apple crisp. Because I had a jar of premade caramel sauce on hand, I used that instead. The topping however, I did not care for as much. Next time I would use the topping from Apple Crisp II from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. My husband even ventured to say that it just about beat his grandma's famous apple pie (an incredible feat, I must say). If you want a perfect fall treat, this is it! I used about 1/3 less butter in the topping than it called for, and served it with vanilla icecream. I gave the recipe to some of my family, and they agree with me - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menu4Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
very good recipe- I used caramel dip and put it on the apples as was suggested in other reviews - I doubled the apple mixture for a 9x13 pan after I saw that one recipe just didn't fill the pan - added 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to one batch of apple mixture - added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon to the crumbly topping for some added flavor - My family thought it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Really delicious! My daughter enjoyed helping to make and eat this. The caramel adds something really special and the crispy topping was great. We followed suggestions of other reviewers and added the caramel and milk before the topping. Some caramel still bubbled up into the crisp and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Betancourt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
My family loved this recipe, but I do not recommend the 8X8 pan. The recipe is too large for that size. I would step it up to a 9X13. My oven was a gooey mess, though the crisp was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was awsome! I did use a larger pan as suggested. I also used the caramel dip and drizzled that on top of the apples instead of on top of the crumble and it turned out perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
this crisp was amazing! i've gotten compliments on it from everyone who's eaten it. i would say that i used the suggestion to use a larger pan..but i probably could have fit it in a smaller pan (guess i used smaller apples). Also, i accidently added a cup of sugar to the "crisp", and it came out with more of a crust, but was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Great dessert. I stole a few of ideas from other reviews, and I must admit, they were all correct: use a 9x13 foil lined pan and put the caramel on the apples and top with the crumble. I also used the caramel fruit dip and it worked great - it spreads easily and no messy pots to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This recipe is delicious and I will definitely make it again, only with a couple of tweaks. One, the pan needs to be larger and should be sprayed with pam or greased first, second the caramel definitely needs to go on top of the apple mixture before the crumb topping. I used caramal syrup, the kind you would put on ice cream, and just warmed it in the microwave (lid off) to warm it so it would be easier to pour, it took about half a bottle. This is delicious served hot with whipped cream on top, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was outstanding. Everyone devoured it in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States