Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It came out really wonderful! I didn't use the caramel topping at all because of a picky eater in my family but it was still a great basic apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oriana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have been waiting to make this one for a while. I finally got around to it tonight and WOW! It is the best apple crisp I have ever eaten! I only did a couple of things different. I used 6 medium Winesap apples because that is what I had on hand and I also added 1/4 tsp. ground cloves to give more of an apple pie taste. This is a great recipe and definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Easy to do and tastes great. I use pre-made caramel sauce on top to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Very good - my family loved it. I used the larger pan like several people suggested. I found it a little too sweet, next time use a little less sugar or less caramel. But all-in-all, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
i made this recipe for my restaurant. everybody just loved it! thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I made this today for a dessert and followed the advice of past reviewers. I used a 9x13 baking dish, doubled the cinnamon, added nutmeg and allspice. I also doubled the lemon juice, omitted the water and added Mexican vanilla. I poured pre-made caramel sauce - about a 1/4 cup - over the apples and then put the crumble mixture on. It came out great...sweet but not overpowering. The top was crispy and the apple mixture was a perfect texture (not mushy at all). The taste was spot on. I served it warm with a drizzle of caramel sauce and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Yum! I will add this to my list of seasonal apple recipes. Thank you, St. Matthew First Graders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this recipe was great! the topping was super crispy and just a perfect texture throughout. the ONLY change i made is that i cut the caramel topping in half. i drizzled it over the top and baked it. followed recipe to a T except the amount of caramel. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PBJSANDWICHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This has to be one of the best dishes I have ever made. I had to make a second batch just to see what it tasted like. The first batch I made was too hot to eat when I left for work, I came home from working the graveyard shift thinking I would have some for breakfast. My family ate the entire pan without saving me a bite!!! I didn't tweak the recipe at all, and found it just fine the way it is, but I am sure I will keep the other reviewers tips in mind when I make it again. I will also be sure to make a pan just for myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I made this the way other reviewers recommended (caramel between apples and crumble topping, 9x13 pan, etc.). It was very delicious, but very very goopy. The topping, instead of being crisp, was really soggy. Next time I think I would reduce the butter in the crumble, and reduce the overall amount of crumble and of caramel. I think that would help the crisp topping to actually be crisp. Also, I would use caramel ice cream topping; it was an awful lot of work unwrapping and melting all those individual caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Delicious, but very watery. I would add tapioca or corn starch to thicken it up the next time. And, per other reviews, I added some cinnamon to the crumb topping, and it had a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States