Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Oh my goodness, this is soooooooo good! I used the vanilla pudding suggested by one of the reviews. I took it to a picnic and everyone raved over it! I used about 3/4 jar of the caramel topping over the apples and only used 1/2 the crumble mixture. It is really rich, I will cut the sugar in the apples next time. Use the vanilla pudding instead of flour, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Malon Spangenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe, but you can make it absolutely perfect in a springform pan, don't ask me how. It just helped it a bit. I plan on making this again and again. Please submit more of your wonderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this with a conversion to 8 servings. It fit perfectly into an 8x8 pan. I put a little extra lemon juice to counteract the sweetness of the caramel. Also with the apples I put 1-2 tablespoons of extra flour so it wouldn't turn out to be soupy. I also put half of the caramel on the apples and then put most of the crumble on. Then I put the remainder of the caramel on top of that. Then put the remainder of the crumble on top about 1/2 cup. It came out perfectly!!!!!! My boyfriend loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As the name implies it IS the best ever. I have a few suggestions for everyone. use a ziploc bag. make the filling, peel and cut the apples then add the apples to the ziploc bag pour in the filling and let marinate while you finish with the rest of the recipe. apples and sauce can even be made the night before and refrigerated. dont forget to double the lemon juice and cinnamon for the sauce. Instead of using flour use vanilla pudding, one box is a half cup. homemade caramel is the best and easiest way to go, medium high heat in a large saucepan stick of butter, cup of sugar and 1.25 cups of heavy cream added slowly and after the sugar turns a nice golden brown. you will have some left over that can be put in a jar and used on ice cream or French toast, mmmm. half the crumble recipe and add a dash of cinnamon. instead of water for the sauce use another liquid i.e. brandy, heavy cream, cider. the last 10 - 15 minutes of bake time sprinkle 1/4 - 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the top, its adds a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicademusx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a very delicious recipe. My family loved it! I didn't have to make any alterations at all. It was perfect just the way it was. My only suggestion is to try it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Simply scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Overall very tasty recipe, but very watery. Definitely need a bigger pan than 8x8...will make it again, but will cut way down on the water, and mabye cut the crumb topping down by a third as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Recipe excellent. However, please note the pan size in this recipe. No way this is a 8 x 8 size pan. This is for 9 x 13 pan. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Very good balance of tartness, sweetness, and crunch! I bake in individual ramekins and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I followed another reviewer advice, and added extra, lemon juice, and apple pie spices, alittle more white sugar, I omitted the water, and replaced with vanilla extract, and brandy adding to 1/4 cup. added the carmel topping, Mrs. Richardson butterscotch carmel topping, then last oatmeal topping. baked at 350' for about 45 min. the bomb!!! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States