Best Ever Caramel Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I took this recipe and incorporated all of nicademusx suggestions below (ziploc bag, cooking cream instead of water, vanilla pudding mix instead of flour in the cumble and the HOMEMADE CARAMEL instead of the melted caramel squares) and this apple crisp is the best I've ever had and my family LOVED it too! I took it to a family dinner, there wasn't a crumb left and the kids who don't like apple crisp had the left-over caramel on vanilla ice cream and they couldn't get enough (frankly, I have never had such an amazing caramel sauce myself either - YUMMY)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe. I took it to a church potluck, and got a lot of compliments. I added a lot more cinnamon (like 1T to the apples, and 1T to the topping). I also switched the amounts of flour and oats, because I prefer oats. I used caramel ice cream topping (the kind that has milk in it) and it worked great. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was a HIT!! I made a couple adjustments. I used a tub of caramel sauce and put it right on the apples. I added SKOR TOFFEE BITS (available in your chocolate chip aisle) to the crumble and sprinkled some more on top about 5 minutes before it was done baking. I definitely lined the pan with aluminum foil and that made a big difference in clean up. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING with vanilla bean ice cream. For an EXTRA special treat (like this isn't enough already!) in the morning you can use the left-overs to make a delicious oatmeal breakfast (great on a cold fall or winter day!). Just add the rest to your favorite porridge recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I tried this for my family and friends and they all loved it. I followed others suggestions with the extra spices and vanilla pudding. My husband is boderline diabetic and it seems all my friends are always on a diet I used splenda for all my sugars, sugar free - fat free pudding, light butter and sugar free caramel ice cream topping. Everyone raved and my teen agers didn't even notice that it wasn't loaded with "diet" ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I made it for the first time and took it to a church function. Needless to say, there wasn't much for me to take home! It was a big hit. I will absolutley be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kell, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Oh my goodness, this is soooooooo good! I used the vanilla pudding suggested by one of the reviews. I took it to a picnic and everyone raved over it! I used about 3/4 jar of the caramel topping over the apples and only used 1/2 the crumble mixture. It is really rich, I will cut the sugar in the apples next time. Use the vanilla pudding instead of flour, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe, but you can make it absolutely perfect in a springform pan, don't ask me how. It just helped it a bit. I plan on making this again and again. Please submit more of your wonderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this with a conversion to 8 servings. It fit perfectly into an 8x8 pan. I put a little extra lemon juice to counteract the sweetness of the caramel. Also with the apples I put 1-2 tablespoons of extra flour so it wouldn't turn out to be soupy. I also put half of the caramel on the apples and then put most of the crumble on. Then I put the remainder of the caramel on top of that. Then put the remainder of the crumble on top about 1/2 cup. It came out perfectly!!!!!! My boyfriend loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
As the name implies it IS the best ever. I have a few suggestions for everyone. use a ziploc bag. make the filling, peel and cut the apples then add the apples to the ziploc bag pour in the filling and let marinate while you finish with the rest of the recipe. apples and sauce can even be made the night before and refrigerated. dont forget to double the lemon juice and cinnamon for the sauce. Instead of using flour use vanilla pudding, one box is a half cup. homemade caramel is the best and easiest way to go, medium high heat in a large saucepan stick of butter, cup of sugar and 1.25 cups of heavy cream added slowly and after the sugar turns a nice golden brown. you will have some left over that can be put in a jar and used on ice cream or French toast, mmmm. half the crumble recipe and add a dash of cinnamon. instead of water for the sauce use another liquid i.e. brandy, heavy cream, cider. the last 10 - 15 minutes of bake time sprinkle 1/4 - 1/2 cup finely chopped pecans to the top, its adds a great crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicademusx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States