Best Ever Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is delicious. I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions. I browned the beef in a cast iron pot. I removed beef and set aside while I sauteed chopped onion and mushrooms. I added large carrots and celery pieces, chopped potatoes, frozen green beans, and frozen peas. (skipped the cabbage) I cut back broth to 32 oz. I added about 1 TB Worcestershire sauce also. I covered the pot and placed in 350 degree oven for at least an hour. I removed the celery and carrot pieces and pureed them in a blender. I mixed a little corn starch with the pureed veggies and returned to pot. This thickened up the stew a bit. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Oh, this has a wonderful taste to it...I did add some onion salt to the meat, but that is only personal preference. My hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaunabphillips
Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I love this - it's so simple to make and tastes great. I added some onion (sauteed in butter first), used diced tomatoes, and used fresh vegetables instead of frozen. The cabbage adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I don't like mixed veggies, so just added additional cabbage. A little onion also adds great flavor. I rarely rank recipes, but this one has hit our "regular" dinner line up. It's quite a treat when you find that kind of recipe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
A very good recipe. I had the time so I was able to cook it on the stove for five hours, very thick and hearty. even my very picky son loved it. note. I did ad 1 can of diced tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Really good stew. I have made it a few times adding somethings along the way. I add celery,crushed garlic and onion. It is good if you follow the recipe or when you add stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Really good! Don't be afraid to add your own little ingredients here and there. You can basically add and subtract what you want without ruining the stew. I cut back on the amount of beef broth by one can. It made my dish thicker. I omiited the cabbage completely. I added 3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and it gave it such a great flavor!!!! I added a little bit of garlic clove too. It enhances the stew without making it garlicky. You won't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is an AWESOME recipe! I was in a tizzy over what to make for dinner one night, and came across this receipe. It's such a hearty, filling soup, and I added mushrooms & a few spices that made it extra tasty. So easy to make, as well! My husband absolutely ranted and raved about how much he liked this dish. A real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe was so each and so good. Even my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is the best ever beef stew. I took out the cabbage and changed the mixed vegetables to one bag of frozen peas and one bag of frozen green beens (both 16 oz. each) and added three sliced fresh carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States