Best Ever Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Really good stew. I have made it a few times adding somethings along the way. I add celery,crushed garlic and onion. It is good if you follow the recipe or when you add stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Very runny. Almost a soup. I'd recommend either halving the water, doubling the cooking time or making this with dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Really good! Don't be afraid to add your own little ingredients here and there. You can basically add and subtract what you want without ruining the stew. I cut back on the amount of beef broth by one can. It made my dish thicker. I omiited the cabbage completely. I added 3 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and it gave it such a great flavor!!!! I added a little bit of garlic clove too. It enhances the stew without making it garlicky. You won't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This is a basic stew, so while not spectacular, it's a good starting point. I was a little skeptical of the 6 cups of beef broth (I like my stews thick), so I simply dissolved 2 beef bouillon cubes into one cup of water, and added that in place of all of the beef broth. I cooked this in my slow-cooker on high heat for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I didn't like it at all. My husband loves most beef stews and he said it was "okay" to make me feel better about all the time spent making it (exactly by the recipe). He took the leftovers to work for lunch, but he might have done that just to avoid wasting so much food. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is an AWESOME recipe! I was in a tizzy over what to make for dinner one night, and came across this receipe. It's such a hearty, filling soup, and I added mushrooms & a few spices that made it extra tasty. So easy to make, as well! My husband absolutely ranted and raved about how much he liked this dish. A real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe was so each and so good. Even my kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is the best ever beef stew. I took out the cabbage and changed the mixed vegetables to one bag of frozen peas and one bag of frozen green beens (both 16 oz. each) and added three sliced fresh carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I was looking for a recipe that used V8. I could not find it! I made an amazing stew years ago with v8. Anyway, I used three different recipes for this one. Sautéed onion with the floured meat, did not drain, added all the veggies, including celery, onion, garlic, carrots, added 29 fl. oz/ of V8. Plus about 6 knorr bullion cubes and water (8 cups) you need a big pot. Add water needed, or not. If it's too thin add a potato or two. It needs to cook for at least an hour, two would be better. They key is to sauté the beef in flour and simmer for hours. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCINNB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is delicious. I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions. I browned the beef in a cast iron pot. I removed beef and set aside while I sauteed chopped onion and mushrooms. I added large carrots and celery pieces, chopped potatoes, frozen green beans, and frozen peas. (skipped the cabbage) I cut back broth to 32 oz. I added about 1 TB Worcestershire sauce also. I covered the pot and placed in 350 degree oven for at least an hour. I removed the celery and carrot pieces and pureed them in a blender. I mixed a little corn starch with the pureed veggies and returned to pot. This thickened up the stew a bit. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States