Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Seriously.. stop writing reviews of 'best ever' when you changed the entire recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1473 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskoka, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Oh my GAAAAWWWDDDD! This was the BEST bread EVER! Here are the changes I made: * 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar * add 1 tsp. vanilla * add 1 tsp. cinnamon * substitute apple sauce for the oil * cooked in a Pampered Chef mini loaf stone pan (4 small loaves) * sprinkled Ghiardelli chocolate cooking chips (60% cocoa) on top * cooked for 57 minutes * I used 3 overly ripe bananas, which was more than 1 cup It is so out of this world...chewy on the outside and moist and dense on the inside...but not overly sweet. I ate a whole mini loaf steaming right of the oven, b/c I couldn't stop. I'm going to go into a banana bread coma! Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This is wonderful. Yogurt works as well as buttermilk. I also accidentally found out that if you use vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk, applesauce instead of oil, and cut out the sugar, it's a pretty good low fat, low sugar treat. Better if it sits for a day so the natural sugars can absorb. I've tweaked this recipe a lot and no matter how I make it it's wonderful! Thanks, Rose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
665 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Thanks, Rose, for a wonderful recipe. I have made this bread several times and it is definitely a favorite. For a simple topping, mix together 2 TBLS. each finely chopped nuts and granulated sugar with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and a generous dash of nutmeg. Sprinkle on batter before baking and press lightly with the back of a spoon. This topping gives the bread a sweet crunch ~ delicious!! Thanks, again, for sharing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
385 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This is definitely THE BEST banana bread I've ever come across- but I swear I've made it even better. Try this- Take 4 oz. of room temp cream cheese, beat it together with 3T milk until smooth. Add 1 cup of powdered sugar and 1/2 t. vanilla and mix until incorporated. Drizzle this over your banana bread when it's done, take a bite and you will swear you've died and gone to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This banana bread lives up to its name as "best banana bread". It freezes perfectly and tasted just as good a week later as when I had just baked it. When I greased the loaf pan, I dusted the pan with sugar. This gave it a crunchy crust with a moist interior. Try this recipe! You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! The title of the recipe couldn't be more fitting! This stuff is the best. I love banana bread and this one was very moist and oh so good. I used 3 overly ripe bananas that I mashed up so it was a little over 1 cup. I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. I added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I left out the nuts, but next time I might add in some walnuts. I sprayed my glass pan with Pam for baking (a life saver) and baked it at 350 for a little over an hour. It smelled incredible and tasted even better - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
This is a great recipe! To make it even better use brown sugar instead of white sugar, whipping cream instead of buttermilk and a bit of vanilla. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is an exccellent banana bread recipe. Most recipes I've tried turn out being dry or rather "blah". I gave this recipe 5 stars (despite some substitutions I made) because of the moistness and great flavor. I used vanilla yogurt rather than butt4rmilk, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, an extra 1/2 cup of mashed banana (I had 4 banans that were beginning to look like a scienc project), an extra 1/4 of flour, and a heaping 1 tsp of cinnamon. I'm not telling my mom, but this recipe is better than hers. I will definitely be making banana bread more often now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Okay, I've made lots of Banana Bread. This may satisy the palate of one who is used to eating out and eating processed foods, but if you are a down-to-earth, cook-everything-from-scratch kind of person, this recipe is not for you. Too sweet, crisp sides (due to the high level of sugar), and not a real banana flavor. It didn't peak and crest, but remained kind of flat (I'm guessing from the lower heating 325 for 1 and 1/2 hour instead of the standard 350 for 1 hour). It has taught me a lesson though . . .to stick with what works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States