Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I altered this by substituting organic applesauce for 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 the sugar and 1/2 of the oil, and I used brown sugar instead of white Like my mother did. I also added one teaspoon of vanilla. It was very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Conner-Layne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I tried this but used 1/2 cup brown sugar with 1 cup white ..... It was rich moist and delicious it really was the best that I've tasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Incredible recipe. My family loved it. I added 1t vanilla, 1/2t cinnamon and 1/8t nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. Needs more bananas but moist with a nice crust. Will make again with 4 bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This is so good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made a few changes too... used half whole wheat flour, substituted the oil with applesauce and used 1 cup stevia and 1/2 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Wow. This was awesome. I tried it because I didn't have any butter or sour cream in the house and the recipe my family makes uses both of those. I also had some buttermilk I wanted to use up. This banana bread was fantastic when steaming hot and fresh out the oven. I don't even know if I'll be able to review how it tastes after sitting because I am basically shoveling it into my mouth as fast as I can eat it. I added a splash of vanilla extract and cinnamon, and I substituted walnuts for pecans and 1 1/4 cups brown sugar instead of the 1 1/2 cups white because I really like my banana bread moist. I used four really ripe bananas and although it says "mix well," by habit I prefer to limit the amount of stirring I do with my spoonbreads, pancake batter, etc so I only folded the wet ingredients in gently. Stuck it in the oven for 50 minutes in a loaf pan. I am thinking of topping with bananas next time or a brown sugar topping for a bit of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I make this delicious bread on a regular basis and it is fabulous!! My family loves it and I'm always complimented on it by others. I've made a few modifications over time to suit my taste: 1. vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk; 2. Instead of 1.5 cups of white sugar, I use 3/4 C white and 3/4 C brown sugar; 3. I've cut the oil back to 1/3 C; and 4. I add a dash of vanilla. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great banana bread recipe exactly as it is - modifications are not necessary! Thanks for the recipe Rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen Parker Powers
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
We absolutely loved it! what a crowd pleaser!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States