Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Yes, I think this will be my new standby. I made it exactly as the recipe specified and while it is delicious and amazingly moist, it is too sweet, even for my sweet tooth. Next time I will cut back on the sugar and - what the heck - may as well toss in a 1/2 tsp of vanilla while I'm revising a little. I made my "buttermilk" by adding 1/3 tsp of white vinegar to 1/3 c milk and let it sit for 5 mins. I am very grateful for this recipe as I have been looking for a long time for "the one". Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
BEST BANANA BREAD EVER!!!! I have tried several recipes and this is by far the best. I have made it for family, work and just for fun with a great response no matter what! One note: I don't spend money on the buttermilk. I use a measuring cup with 1 tbsp white vinegar and fill the rest (up to 1 cup line) with milk. I've used 1% and 2%, both turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I love this recipe! It is a family favorite for sure. I will be making it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Barszcz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I'm on a hunt for a perfect banana bread recipe and I feel like this is close but not quite there. It has a really nice color and texture but doesn't seem to cook evenly. Extra 1/4 cup of banana tasted better than the 1 cup called for. Considerably less cooking time than the recipe calls for, as little as an hour for really moist bread and 70 mins for really well done. Even doing that though I find the edges are borderline over-cooked by the time the center is finished-which is why I only give 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Hmmmm...definitely not the best banana bread I;ve ever made. I followed the recipe exactly and found that the middles of the loaves fell in and the sides and edges of the bread were too crispy, as if the sugar carmelized. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Just fabulous! It is rare to have a sweet bread that actually bakes in the amount of time stated in the recipe! I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted nonfat milk with 1 tbsp white distilled vinegar and it worked wonderfully. I also sprinkled brown sugar on top for a nice sweet crunch. This bread's batter appears thin but turns out great! I nearly added more flour when I saw it, so glad I didn't! Just have faith in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was so easy to make, just quadrupled the ingredients and made in a big dishpan. The bread was perfect and so were the muffins. Just had to keep testing for doneness. A great way to use too-ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Port Orford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I doubled this recipe because I had enough ripe bananas that needed to be used. This is not the best recipe for banana bread I have ever tried. I thought the photo was a little unusual as the bread is still in the pan. Maybe the submitter had the same problem I did. Well, I followed directions and "sprayed my pans with non-stick spray coating." I should have greased them with Crisco, as the bread was not about to come out. I have very decent non-stick pans, but they still need Crisco. I really should have known better. Anyway, the loafs are cooling, minus their bottoms. I ate some of the bread that was stuck in the bottom of the pan and I believe it is going to be way too sweet. I'm just glad I didn't waste my pecans on this recipe. I will go back to my old favorite recipe from the Crystal Sugar Co. I have been using it since I was married... 1959. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
So good! I absolutely love how the crust comes out on this one. I can't get enough of it. I didn't have any buttermilk on hand (we have milk allergies in the house) and used hemp milk instead. I am allergic to pecans and many other nuts, so I left that out as well. I know nearly everyone has drastically changed this recipe, but that was all I did. And it was so delicious. It was gone about as soon as I took it out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Wonderful, great tasting banana bread. I made one modification - I cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and it tasted delicious. Less sugar allowed the flavor of bananas and buttermilk to surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States