Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yum. This was delicious, moist, sweet, crunchy on top, just wonderful. I suppose it's not fair of me to review this since I did it with MANY substitutions. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used plain milk + vinegar. I was almost out of baking soda, so I used up what I had plus some baking powder. I used canola oil plus some olive oil. And I didn't even have enough banana, so I made up the difference with applesauce. I imagine this recipe would be even better if i used the right stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie447

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I used 1C all purpose and 1C whole wheat flour,1C brown sugar and 3 big ripe bananas. I used walnuts and chocolate chips instead of pecans. The rest was the same. The recipe turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I really liked it. Super yummy! My friend came over just as I took it out of the oven and said, "This is sinfully good!" It's super moist, and I really like the the slightly crunchy crust it makes. I added raisins to it. But this is definitely a "must make again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie Avila
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
it was perfect! didn't change a thing and my father loved it. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Avila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I thought this recipe turned out great! I substituted butter for the oil...it was yummy. To motherbeans: all you have to do is wrap it in foil overnight, and it will be moist on the outside, too. I kind of liked the crispy edges when it was still warm! Also, I didn't have pecans, so I used English walnuts - actually my favorite - and it was pretty scrumptious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
WOW!!!! Had some leftover bananas, read this recipe and the reviews. Glad I did!!!! Used applesauce instead of oil, vanilla yoghurt instead of buttermilk, 1 tsp of cinnamon and did the brown/white sugar mix. Also lightly sprinkled the loaf pan with sugar as another reader suggests to give it texture. Great ideas!!!!! The bread turned out soooo very moist and tasty. There won't be any to freeze!!! Thanks all who contributed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Moist, and flavorful. I did add in lemon zest, which really made it the best ever banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Not the best banana bread I have ever made, it was not as moist as I would have liked. Needed more mashed banana for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for this recipe , my friends love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is my favourite banana bread recipe. I generally substitute plain yogurt for the buttermilk and double the recipe. Always turns out and disappears quickly at home and at the office. If you try it you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States