Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I understand that ratings should be based on the original recipe, but there is benefit in doing both--recognizing a recipe for its general value but adding additional value in changes that enhance the original recipe. Thank you Rose for this recipe! And thank you to all the reviewers who offered additional enhancements! I baked this with apple sauce instead of oil, and added some cinnamon and replaced a third of the sugar with brown sugar. All minor changes, and with or without these changes, this is a great recipe. I'm not sure why the original recipe suggested 1 hour and 20 minutes to cook, but I would say no more than 60 minutes is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Asha
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Perfection!! The only change I made was baking it at 325 instead of 300. No other changes needed!! Soooooo goooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
been looking for a banana recipe and I found this! since then till now I used this recipe.my husband loved it.it so moist, its the best! will surely kept this recipe for life! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I added some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I thought it was good. The second time I too cut down on the sugar and added a few spices,cooking it the usual 350 degrees for an hour. However, I also thought Motherbeans' review was mean and condescending. Helpful reviews don't put down the rest of the people like they are uncultured idiots. Better just to have left out the snarky comment about satifying palates of one used to eating out. What does that do the help? Nothing. Just describe the too much sugar and the other things and keep your snobbishness to the country club. Other "experts" don't treat people this way. We're all trying to learn here and have some fun doing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed Georgias suggestions. I was skeptical right out of the oven, the banana bread seemed over cooked and average flavor. I put it in a Ziploc bag and put it in the fridge... however the next day I opened up the bag to the best banana bread I have EVER had. The term that came to mind although doesn't conceptually make sense is pudding like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan Smith
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Well, if the other 999+ ratings didn't convince you, here's another one. I love this bread. I used coconut milk instead of buttermilk (I was out of milk and didn't want to run to the store) and I added a tsp of vanilla. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is good but too sweet as written. The second time I made it I used just a cup of sugar and half whole wheat flour and it was much better. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg because it's pretty boring and sweet otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
OMG, this really is what everyone is saying, the BEST banana bread ever. I did tweek a little after reading reviews. I used the yogurt instead of buttermilk, added 1 tsp Vanilla, Cinnamon, and some ground nutmeg. I did 3/4 cup each sugar white and dark brown. I mixed the sugars together and sprinkled the bottom of the loaf pan with sugars. Gave it a sweet crispy crunch on bottom. (should have done the top too) I happen to have walnuts so I tossed those in also. It came out so moist and flavorful. Cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States