Best Ever Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Decided to make this given I had a huge yellow plantain about to go bad. Didn't have buttermilk so subbed vanilla yogurt. Replaced 1/2 cup white sugar for Brown (going for a more molasses-y flavor), added cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. Used coconut oil for the oil (only other vegetable oil I had was Olive :) ha!). I generally think banana bread is pretty meh and not worth the ingredients to make but this was absolutely an impressive and delicious baked good I will be making again and again! Thank you to the poster for letting us know this is great to freeze and thank you to the reviewer who suggested the substitution of yogurt for buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Could taste the butter milk. Did not like the taste. was not mosist like it said. Will not make it again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Witkowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
I think I just found a new favorite banana bread recipe! The bread was moist and light and so flavorful. This one's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
This bread is moist, and I love the addition of buttermilk. However, like many other reviewers, I had to change it to fit my tastes. I halved the sugar (it's WAY too sweet), added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, and baked it at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes. I think whole wheat pastry flour is great in banana bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
By the way, I'd like to add a note to me earlier review, in response to others, that I think there's nothing wrong with calling this bread the "best ever" and then suggesting changes or substitutes. This is an excellent "base" recipe, when there are lots of others out there that are not. Plus, it's fun to change it up. Even published, professional cooks would agree with this. Finally, this should be a community of people sharing ideas and experiences. We can all experiment and learn from one another, and should :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Very good banana bread. I made 4 mini loaves out of one recipe and the only change I made was using 1/4 cup less sugar and walnuts instead of pecans. I did make another batch (for me) lightened up a bit using egg beaters for eggs and applesauce for oil, but either way, this is a tasty version of banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Delicious! Next time I may add in some cinnamon and chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Hunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randleman, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
First attempt came out great. Truly a wonderful recipe. Thank you very much Rose for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nami Lim
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Ver y easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States