Best Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
My daughter introduced me to this recipe, and I must say these egg rolls are wonderful!! I made a few changes as per her suggestion. This is what I added more ginger and garlic powder (have no fear because the veggies are bland so can use the seasoning). I also used ground turkey (personal preference), cooked the meat till done then added quite a bit of soy sauce and cooked it off till the liquid was absorbed by the meat. This step also helps flavor the veggies mix. Tossed the meat mixture into shredded veggies and mixed thoroughly. this step helps to soften the veggies. I used egg roll wrappers & did not need the flour paste mentioned in this recipe as dipping my finger in water and rubbing onto the edge of the wrapper seals it nicely. None of my egg rolls opened up while cooking using the water method. I wrapped my egg rolls as I cooked since you need to be sure the uncooked egg rolls do not touch each other or they will seal themselves together! I used regular vegetable oil and cooked till golden. These egg rolls are better than what I have previously enjoyed in our favorite chinese restaurant! I will definitely make again. I had a few wrappers leftover so I filled with a 1/2" strip of cream cheese and sealed all edges with the water and cooked. Yummmm Thank you for this recipe!!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I may be unfair giving only 3 stars, because I changed quite a bit. First of all I am mostly vegetarian, and after searching all over for a good vegetarian egg roll recipe, I decided to modify this one. I did not use pork at all. I bought a 16oz bag of coleslaw mix (cabbage and carrots) and shredded a bit more carrot into it since there wasn't much. I followed other reviewers' advice and used 2 tsp ginger and garlic powder instead of one. I mixed those two spices in with 2 T light soy sauce and 2 T water and sautéed it with the veggie mixture. I then added some pre-soaked rice noodles (because the most recent--and delicious--restaurant egg rolls I ate had that in them). I refrigerated the mix overnight to make the next day. I fried them using Smart Balance oil instead of peanut oil. Results: Too much ginger. I would stick with the original 1 tsp. or maybe 1 1/2. The soy sauce was definitely needed, because I can't see how they would have had much flavor otherwise. The water/flour mixture did not hold the corners in place. The wrappers I bought (Frieda's brand) are kinda thick and didn't fry the inner layers all the way through. The wrappers also did not fry flat and super crispy like egg rolls are supposed to be. Got lots of air bubbles and overall texture was more like a fried thin flour tortilla. Peanut oil might have helped? I'll keep tweaking to get it right! Overall it's very quick and easy! Hubby liked them ok with dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashelle Pack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Collins
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made these tonight & my family devoured them. I did double the ginger & garlic like other reviewers. And I used half a pound of pork & half a pound of ground beef. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Collins
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
As with some other reviewers, I doubled the seasoning and added some soya sauce to the pork mixture and used a whole bag of coleslaw mix instead of cabbage and carrots. The taste was AMAZING, but we found them overly oily, so I will likely bake them or pan-fry in just a tiny bit of oil next time. Because there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Soda_Junkie
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This is one of the best and easy recipe of egg rolls ever. I made these egg rolls for my wife, after she was healing from surgery. She ate everyone of them and now she want me made them once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soda_Junkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Good basic go to recipe. I tweaked it a bit, but I do that with many recipes. I like green onion and do increase the garlic and ginger. I also add just a splash of aromatic sesame oil in the filling just before adding/rolling it in the egg roll wraps and frying. I serve it with a trifecta of three sauces : A decent sweet and sour sauce as well as a wasabi based - mustard sauce. I also serve it with a jazzed up version of soy sauce too. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Love this recipe, super easy. I never thought egg rolls would be this easy to make! I added a pinch of chinese 5 spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa Ivy Pannuto Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Definitely listen to the reviews on seasoning. I took "snowflakes" advice and doubled the garlic and ginger added 2 tbs soy sauce and 1/2 tsp Chinese five spice. Gave the filling a really good flavor. Plus using the slaw mix is a no brainer but you need more like 3-4 cups per 1 lb of pork or the ratio is way off. I also deep fried mine at 350 so the edges didn't burn. I'm always stuffing things into egg roll wrappers but this is my first traditional style and is going to remain my go to recipe with the above mentioned alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I use coleslaw mix, add bean sprouts. Will sub eggs for meat ( just fry a couple up with the cabbage and sprouts) Also can be baked by spraying cooking spray or brushing with olive oil at 325
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I followed the examples of other people. I double the ginger and garlic. Did not use sesame seeds. I used the whole bag of cabbage with carrots (16oz) which I minced up more. I also added a can of small shrimp. They were awesome and easy to do. Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States