Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I had never made anything like this before, so much better then the bland croquettes from the local diners. Loved them with panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danisparkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Yum! We also doubled the recipe to feed our family of 5 (and got 13 small ovals from it)! Like others, we sauteed some onion (about 3 tablespoons), and used way less poultry seasoning! Also, I used a stick of margarine in place of shortening, and fried it in that AND also baked them at 400* for about 15 minutes to decrease the sogginess of the insides! The gravy in the recipe was so yummy and such a nice flavor with the croquettes! Definitely will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was completely winging it- made some changes and this turned out so good! Used a package of ground chicken (because that's what I had)- cooked it with salt, pepper & poultry seasoning. In a bowl, mixed the cooked chicken, almost half the can of cream of chicken soup, breadcrumbs, touch of s&p, about 1/3 large onion cooked for a few minutes. Didn't have celery but if I did I would have cooked it w/ onion too. Had chive cream cheese so cut into blocks and wrapped the chicken mixture around each block and molded into a large meatball shape. Refrigerated balls for about an hour. Rolled balls into bread crumbs right before cooking- tried one in the shortening and it fell apart (probably because these were very moist- will add a few more bread crumbs to the mix next time to hold shape but not so much to dry them out), then threw in the deep fryer at about 350 degrees- they cooked in about 3 minutes. On stove, heated up the rest of the chicken soup, some milk, parmesean cheese, s&p, poultry seasoning, and some of the cream cheese until it was a yummy sauce. My husband said they could be served in a restaurant! Next time my only changes may be trying chopped cooked chicken breasts(although the ground chicken was easy and great too), may add some celery, add a slightly bigger chunk of the cream cheese in the center of balls (can't get enough cream cheese), and may try a little egg dip before I breadcrumb the outer ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Wow! These were wonderful! I usually purchase mine from the Amish in Lancaster County, but these were so good, I'll be making them myself from now on! The recipe only made 4 croquettes, so you will need to double the recipe if you want extra. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Upon the reviews of many others here and for my own preferences, I changed this recipe quite a bit. While the recipe is a good basic one to build on, I made the following changes: I changed it to serve 4; made 2 cups of chicken gravy instead of using the soup, and refrigerated it to let it congeal a bit before adding a portion of it to the croquette mixture; sauteed the onion and celery before adding to the mixture; substituted panko crumbs; refrigerated the 8 oval patties/croquettes I made for several hours before dusting them with flour, dipping in egg/milk then coating in the crumbs (seasoned with a little poultry seasoning, kosher salt and pepper); I baked them at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I also added just a pinch of poultry seasoning to the gravy I made and served the croquettes with mashed potatoes and wax beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Here's the deal....we made a rotisserie chicken and had leftovers. Hubby was craving chicken croquettes, and we found this recipe. Sounded yummy to both of us. We decided to use cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken. Hubs said....I wanna make 'em. Hey, go for it!! Well, he read the recipe, but not the instructions. He added the entire can of soup and the milk to the chicken mixture. Trying to salvage the "goop" he made, we refridgerated it for about an hour, shaped into large patties, breaded, and baked them in the oven. Despite not having any sauce to put over them, they were really delicious. I did carefully turn them once the bottoms were browned to get the other side crunchy. So....this is a VERY forgiving recipe, and really very good. Can't wait to make them the right way next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was very easy to prepare and I made them as directed. I like the fact that it's mostly chicken and only a few breadcrumbs. It made 6 small patties and my husband, who can't eat too much in one sitting due to a medical condition, ate 4 of them. I put too much milk in the soup so I added a scoop of country gravy mix. It was great. I did saute the onions and celery as others suggested. It had just the right amount of poultry seasoning. These are much better than restaurant or frozen. The next time, I might add just a little minced red or green peppers cause I like that taste in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! Even my extremely picky kids loved them and asked for seconds. I didn't have celery so I had to exclude that part of the recipe but it didn't seem to make a difference in the taste. It was definitely easy to make. Also I used canned chicken...it probably would have been better if I used a chicken breast but I used what I had! All in all this was a great recipe and will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakernotchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I grew up on boxed Weaver's Chicken Croquettes, but can not find them anymore. My kids had never had them so I decided to try this recipe, and they turned out so much better than the store bought. I used butter in place of the shortening, just because I never use shortening. I served it with mashed potatoes and it truly did take me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My family thought the poultry seasoning was a little too much. I will make these again, (actually, my eight-year-old cooked tonight; he's a good cook) but will cut the poultry seasoning and maybe leave it out of the gravy all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States