Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I have always loved chicken croquettes but found them cumbersome to prepare. This recipe was quite easy and very quick. Instead of chicken, I substituted the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. These were just delicious. The proof, however, came from the teen who returned for 2nds and 3rds. She is a very picky eater, so that was quite a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I always loved the storebought chicken croquets (the frozen ones)but then they disappeared from the stores... my husband was always checking and asking how to make them... so I found them on here and they sounded easy. They were easy and delicious! makes a little chicken go a long way! So yummy, thanks for a great recipe, hubby loved it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These were so delicious! I had to improvise a bit, though. I used leftover turkey and I didn't have any cream of chicken soup, so I used a little gravy instead! Unfortunately I couldn't make the sauce, but did make a little dipping sauce to go along with them. They were still really delicious! I can't wait to try this recipe with chicken and soup next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Masontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I have been searching for the recipe my Mom used when making Turkey Croquettes with leftovers after Thanksgiving. This comes closest to it:) I added minced garlic and used butter, not shortening and added my leftover turkey gravy to the sauce. Add some leftover stuffing, and a mix of leftover mashed potatoes and mashed turnips and it is "comfort food" heaven:-) What great memories it brings and will now be a New favorite for "after" Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
I made these with canned chicken and they were very very good. Instead of making the sauce, I made creamed peas and new potates to serve with them. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I doubled the recipe to feed my family of 5. It's best that you make them no larger than 3". Any bigger and they won't hold their shape as well. This recipe is surprisingly good and I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
These were terrific. Used chicken breasts poached in broth. Didn't have Italian bread crumbs so I added some sage and thyme to plain crumbs. Browned croquettes in oil instead of shortening and kept warm in oven. Added poaching broth to remaining soup for gravy instead of milk. Next time I'll pre-cook the celery and onion. Served with mashed potatoes, glazed carrots and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe for leftover chicken. I'll probably cook an extra chicken next time to be sure I have leftovers for this recipe. The only thing I'll do different next time is use my food processor to mince the chicken....duh! We enjoyed these with plenty of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Overall this recipe is very easy, much easier than I anticipated croquettes to be. I have two gripes with the recipe though. First, there is no suggestion of using a NON-STICK skillet to brown the croquettes. It was really frustrating to take a large skillet, as directed, and when flipping the croquettes have the browned breading come right off sticking to the pan. After one turn I transferred them into a non-stick skillet and it worked much better. My second gripe is the amount of poultry seasoing in the croquettes. There is far too much for this amount of chicken, breadcrumbs etc. If I were to make this recipe again I would cut the 1/4 tsp of poultry seasoning that goes in the meat mixture to 1/8 tsp. Overall the textures of this was great but the over powering flavor of too much poultry seasoning ruined it for me. Maybe if I do make this agin with less seasoning it will turn out how I expected/wanted it to and I will be ableto come back and give it a higher rating but until then, I wouldn't recommend it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Really good. Used leftover roasted chicked. Didn't have poultry seasoning so used lemon pepper, some salt, and more pepper. Also used cream of celery since that's what I had. Added shredded white chedder cheese to mixture. Put patties in freezer for about 15 minutes since I was short on time. Then floured and pan fried. Used a white sauce melted with a little more chedder cheese and poured on top of patties. Patties held together and were a hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States