Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Upon the reviews of many others here and for my own preferences, I changed this recipe quite a bit. While the recipe is a good basic one to build on, I made the following changes: I changed it to serve 4; made 2 cups of chicken gravy instead of using the soup, and refrigerated it to let it congeal a bit before adding a portion of it to the croquette mixture; sauteed the onion and celery before adding to the mixture; substituted panko crumbs; refrigerated the 8 oval patties/croquettes I made for several hours before dusting them with flour, dipping in egg/milk then coating in the crumbs (seasoned with a little poultry seasoning, kosher salt and pepper); I baked them at 375 degrees for 35 minutes. I also added just a pinch of poultry seasoning to the gravy I made and served the croquettes with mashed potatoes and wax beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Here's the deal....we made a rotisserie chicken and had leftovers. Hubby was craving chicken croquettes, and we found this recipe. Sounded yummy to both of us. We decided to use cheddar cheese soup instead of cream of chicken. Hubs said....I wanna make 'em. Hey, go for it!! Well, he read the recipe, but not the instructions. He added the entire can of soup and the milk to the chicken mixture. Trying to salvage the "goop" he made, we refridgerated it for about an hour, shaped into large patties, breaded, and baked them in the oven. Despite not having any sauce to put over them, they were really delicious. I did carefully turn them once the bottoms were browned to get the other side crunchy. So....this is a VERY forgiving recipe, and really very good. Can't wait to make them the right way next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was very easy to prepare and I made them as directed. I like the fact that it's mostly chicken and only a few breadcrumbs. It made 6 small patties and my husband, who can't eat too much in one sitting due to a medical condition, ate 4 of them. I put too much milk in the soup so I added a scoop of country gravy mix. It was great. I did saute the onions and celery as others suggested. It had just the right amount of poultry seasoning. These are much better than restaurant or frozen. The next time, I might add just a little minced red or green peppers cause I like that taste in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful! Even my extremely picky kids loved them and asked for seconds. I didn't have celery so I had to exclude that part of the recipe but it didn't seem to make a difference in the taste. It was definitely easy to make. Also I used canned chicken...it probably would have been better if I used a chicken breast but I used what I had! All in all this was a great recipe and will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakernotchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I grew up on boxed Weaver's Chicken Croquettes, but can not find them anymore. My kids had never had them so I decided to try this recipe, and they turned out so much better than the store bought. I used butter in place of the shortening, just because I never use shortening. I served it with mashed potatoes and it truly did take me back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
My family thought the poultry seasoning was a little too much. I will make these again, (actually, my eight-year-old cooked tonight; he's a good cook) but will cut the poultry seasoning and maybe leave it out of the gravy all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I went to the store last week in search of the old Weaver frozen chicken croquettes after my husband and I got a craving for them, but found out they are no longer made. I immediately searched online and found this recipe. We tried them today and everyone LOVED them, including my 7 and 10 year old! I did saute the onions and celery with some sazon and put those along w/ the chicken and 2 bouillon cubes into the food processor before adding the soup. I also coated them before refrigerator and dredged in egg whites and coated again before frying. They still fell apart when flipping. That's the reason for the 4 stars. We baked 2 of them to see the taste difference & to lighten them up. While the 2 baked ones only had one coat of breadcrumbs the coating was a little "gummy." Still very good and I will continue to tweak this until we get it just right! Overall, I'd definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These are very easy to make and good. Will make them again. I used turkey that I had leftover from my Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Made with left over thanksgiving turkey ( chopped with food processor) next time I will 86 the celery, it doesn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This has to be the best chicken croquette recipe I have ever tried. The fact that you can make them the same day as you make them instead of putting them in the fridge overnight makes it a lot better. I would recommend this recipe to all my friends. Today I made them with leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States