Best Easy Chicken Croquettes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This is a good base recipe and very versatile. I used what I had leftover: Turkey, gravy, and cold drippings from roasting the turkey (I doubled the recipe so I had some in the freezer to quick cook for next time). I threw onions, turkey, celery and breadcrumbs in the food processor then put in spices and liquids, mixed well. I rolled them into balls and let them chill in fridge for a few hours. I then dipped in egg/milk mixture then breaded them. I baked them at 350 for 45 mins then turned up the oven to 400 for 10 additional mins. I served them with my own homemade turkey gravy. These are great made with really anything such as ham, salmon, tuna etc you just must adjust the seasonings and liquids you add to it. Thank you so much for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I made this recipe using fresh ground chicken, had to cook longer but they are so good and my family requests them often, I had no issue in cooking them and I love poultry seasoning, so to me it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I made this recipe for my family recently and it was amazing! I have had many chicken croquettes before both home made, store bought, and from restaurants, and these ones are defiantly the best I have ever had. The flavor is prefect, they are super easy to make, and the best thing about them is the texture. They are also super moist which I love! If your are unsure about making this recipe defiantly make it, you will not regret it at all. Just make sure you are measuring everything properly so they come out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My mixture looked a little dry and I wanted to bake them, avoiding fried foods. I added one beaten eggs. Followed recipe to chill before cooking, but by mistake, I rolled them in the additional crumbs first. I sprayed a shallow casserole pan with butter flavor Pam. I placed croquettes in and lightly sprayed tops with Pam. Baked thirty minutes at 350, flipping them over and again spraying lightly half way through. They were wonderful. I did need to thin the sauce with 1/4 cup of chicken broth. We had them with mashed potatoes and peas. Did them again with noodles. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Overall this recipe is pretty good except could use a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Schreiber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Turned out well! Doubled the recipe to make 6 servings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I had never made anything like this before, so much better then the bland croquettes from the local diners. Loved them with panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danisparkles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Yum! We also doubled the recipe to feed our family of 5 (and got 13 small ovals from it)! Like others, we sauteed some onion (about 3 tablespoons), and used way less poultry seasoning! Also, I used a stick of margarine in place of shortening, and fried it in that AND also baked them at 400* for about 15 minutes to decrease the sogginess of the insides! The gravy in the recipe was so yummy and such a nice flavor with the croquettes! Definitely will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was completely winging it- made some changes and this turned out so good! Used a package of ground chicken (because that's what I had)- cooked it with salt, pepper & poultry seasoning. In a bowl, mixed the cooked chicken, almost half the can of cream of chicken soup, breadcrumbs, touch of s&p, about 1/3 large onion cooked for a few minutes. Didn't have celery but if I did I would have cooked it w/ onion too. Had chive cream cheese so cut into blocks and wrapped the chicken mixture around each block and molded into a large meatball shape. Refrigerated balls for about an hour. Rolled balls into bread crumbs right before cooking- tried one in the shortening and it fell apart (probably because these were very moist- will add a few more bread crumbs to the mix next time to hold shape but not so much to dry them out), then threw in the deep fryer at about 350 degrees- they cooked in about 3 minutes. On stove, heated up the rest of the chicken soup, some milk, parmesean cheese, s&p, poultry seasoning, and some of the cream cheese until it was a yummy sauce. My husband said they could be served in a restaurant! Next time my only changes may be trying chopped cooked chicken breasts(although the ground chicken was easy and great too), may add some celery, add a slightly bigger chunk of the cream cheese in the center of balls (can't get enough cream cheese), and may try a little egg dip before I breadcrumb the outer ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Wow! These were wonderful! I usually purchase mine from the Amish in Lancaster County, but these were so good, I'll be making them myself from now on! The recipe only made 4 croquettes, so you will need to double the recipe if you want extra. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States