Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I too hate it when people change the ingredients and then say they "loved this recipe", but I was missing a couple things that this recipe called for and so didn't use them. I wanted to make a minestrone soup really bad, but even with the slight changes i made, MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES THIS SOUP!!! First, I cut the recipe to 6 servings (still makes a lot). I did not have spinach or canned mixed veges, so i used frozen mixed veges and no spinach. I also did not have garbanzo beans so used 2 cans of kidney beans instead. Lastly, I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones. I think even if i had not made those changes, it STILL WOULD BE AWESOME! YUMM! MAKE THIS! Oh, I wanted to add that this is the recipe that made me join this site even though I've been visiting it for a couple years now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
excellent!!!! everyone who tries this soup absolutely loves it... even the ones who don't like veggies! highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This soup is fabulous!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it's one of the best I've ever made. Next time though, I'll use diced tomatoes instead of the whole ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was impressed, even with only *half* the cream added. I used the entire 6 oz. of tomato paste, and later doubled the basil. FROZEN mixed veggies ("for soup") were perfect, and I used two 32 oz. boxes of chicken broth. Later, for kicks I added imitation lobster to the leftovers, and that was good too! Great recipe for a group, like our family, or guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Made this for our church group. Everyone loved it. I used half & half at the end in place of the heavy cream 'cuz I was scared it would be too creamy. Turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this soup for our Italian themed Christmas office party. Everyone loved it. This recipe was enough for about 30 guests to each have a cup of the soup. I added red pepper flakes because we like things spicy in South Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
All of the rave reviews for this recipe are true!! I increased the tomato paste from 2 T to 6ozs (one small can), used half and half instead of the heavy cream and I added already cooked frozen shrimp which was the "icing on the cake"! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was a fun easy dinner to make. The substitutions I made were 1 c. half/half, rest of cream substituted with 2% milk. I used fresh veggies, not canned, and only 2 tbs butter. Was fabulous- and not a load of calories. I also did it in the crock pot instead of stove. The only thing, this recipe is so big it could have filled 3 large pots! Will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
THIS IS THE RECIPE THAT MADE ME JOIN THIS SITE......MY MOTHER IN LAW MADE IT FOR 50 FRIENDS & FAMILY MEMBERS, AND WE ALL LOVED IT! ~JOI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States