Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This sounded intersting for a small supper party I'm planning for the holidays, so I thought I'd try it before making for guests. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it. I did as several others suggested -- 3 Tbsp. butter, half and half, frozen veggies. Also I used fresh spinach. Will make again for guests this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very Good! I changed a couple of things though. I cut the recipe in half and I used frozen mixed vegetables since I don't like the flavor of canned. I also used a orzo type pasta because macaroni swells up too much and I used half n half also. If you want meat in it you can slow cook some stew meat before making the soup then it turns out real tender or add precooked Italian sausage. I've also made the soup vegetarian with vegetable broth and it was still real good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Easy to make and so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
my family loved !! I used half and half in stead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chlubas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This definitely lives up to it's name. I made this a couple of weeks ago and am shopping for the ingredients today to make more - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I am going to start my review by saying that I did not follow the recipe. I tried to get rid of all the canned stuff to cut down on the sodium, and the soup didn't taste good at all. My guess is that the attraction here is to all that salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a great base-recipe for a really satisfying soup, and it results in the kind of food you want to eat again and again. I used fresh grilled veggies instead of canned, and added some cayenne to give it some punch. Half-and-half instead of cream seemed to work pretty well, too. Basically, if you're into cutting calories, it's easy to do that with this recipe and still yield VERY nice results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by El Burrito Carlito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
the soup tasted really good. My only complaint is about the macaroni. It gets really soggy and gross. I ruined the whole batch of soup because I added the pasta in then cooked like the directions say. the problem was the left over soup... I ended up throwing it out due to the mushy past. Next time I would just add the pasta per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I too hate it when people change the ingredients and then say they "loved this recipe", but I was missing a couple things that this recipe called for and so didn't use them. I wanted to make a minestrone soup really bad, but even with the slight changes i made, MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES THIS SOUP!!! First, I cut the recipe to 6 servings (still makes a lot). I did not have spinach or canned mixed veges, so i used frozen mixed veges and no spinach. I also did not have garbanzo beans so used 2 cans of kidney beans instead. Lastly, I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones. I think even if i had not made those changes, it STILL WOULD BE AWESOME! YUMM! MAKE THIS! Oh, I wanted to add that this is the recipe that made me join this site even though I've been visiting it for a couple years now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States