Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I made this with one change,I used 4 16 oz. pkg. of mixed vegetables instead of canned. This is a 5 star recipe and I will be making it over and over. Be advised this will make a lot of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I actually only used a few tablespoons of cream, as I wasn't sure why the recipe even needed it. Next time I make it, I will probably leave it out all together. I also doubled the seasonings for more flavor. As mentioned by others, this recipe can feed an army so it is perfect for large groups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This really is the most amazing minestrone soup I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Made this soup today, a nice rainey day for it, and it was WONDERFUL!! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Absolutely Amazing!!! I used fresh veggies instead of canned and used escarole I didn't have spinach. This was the best soup I have ever had.WOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was super delicious! Perfect for those meatless Fridays! I am honestly not much of a vegetable soup person but this was THE exception! For the mixed vegetables I used a frozen 14oz bag mix that had: brocoli, lima beans, carrots, and squash and half a 16oz bag of a frozen pea/carrot mix, and a full package of frozen chop spinach. I halfved the recipe and used 3T of Smart Balance spread instead of butter and used whole milk because that's what I had. Even with these mods there was no lack of flavor! Yum! Yum! Oh, and I was short on time so only simmered for about 30-45 mins for the first step and 30 mins for the last step and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Delicious! I cut it in half because I just didn't need that much. I subbed frozen vegetables instead of canned but you need a little more salt than called for. I also used stock instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERSHK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Awesome soup, made a few small changes, use frozen veggies instead of canned, diced tomato, and only part of the heavy cream, used vegetable broth as well.I will definitely make this agin, but will use half and half as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My club had a soup luncheon as a fund-raiser and I took this soup. It was a huge hit and everyone asked for the recipe. Minestrone with a cream base sounds odd but it was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusannaMontana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This exceeded our entire family's expectations! VERY hearty soup with amazing flavor! I followed the recipe exactly and had more success than I have ever had with a soup! Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States