Best Darn Minestrone Soup Around Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Really Delicious amazing soup! I halved the recipe since I'm only feeding three, & only used 1 cup of cream & 1 TBSP butter to cut down the fat. Still came out plenty creamy and full of flavor.(Also threw in a handful of chopped kale). Yummy!....will be making this again soon! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Really good recipe. Didn't puree any of the veg. A nice change of pace from traditional minestrone soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
The favorite soup in our house and very similar to Lelli's which is great because it's expensive there and I'm always left wanting more. I omit the butter and throw the onions in with the veggies. I use frozen veggies and half the amount of fat free !/2 &1/2. Pureeing the veggies is the key to this soup. No need to cook it so long - I do the whole thing in 30 min. Keeps well and always disappears within 3 days. A sure crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Your recipe is wonderful. I did make a few changes as others, used less butter, added garlic to the onions and used frozen veggies (can't eat a vegetables from a can.) Really enjoyed NOT having to spend a half hour chopping veggies. Very good, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I am familiar with Lelli's restaurant - and their minnestrone is VERY good. This recipe was great & very similar - my relatives thought it was even better! I added 3 cloves of garlic to the sauteed onions and added white northern beans instead of garbonzos. Also used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned. Used only 2 cups of cream - that seemed to be plenty. This recipe does make a LOT; however, I froze half and will get two meals from the batch. Blending the veggies is key. Very, very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as shown, only I used half and half instead of cream. I admit the amount of garlic powder scared me, but it was just right. Also only made half of the entire recipe. Filled up my dutch oven. Very tasty, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this soup at work for 120 people, the talked about it for weeks after the event, i have ahd MANY people since ask me to remake this soup again It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Being from Detroit I LOVE lellis soup and was online looking for a knock off. Ron, you did fantastic. Whenever I make this for people they ask for the recipe. My son LOVES it. (Although I have to puree the entire thing to hide the beans..and omit chickpeas) Just a tip for people.... If you puree the whole thing...boil the noodles separately and throw them in at the end. I use ditalini ( small) pasta, and I use whole milk instead of cream. Ive tried half and half too, but once you puree it you don't lose the creaminess factor. I leave it in my bug soup pot and use my immersion blender , I used to use the blender.. no more. Whole milk works wonderfully. Thanks Ron. I miss being in the D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Alot of ingredients, but well worth the trouble. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States