Best Damn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Being a chilihead, I was suspicious of the amount of tomato paste and added beans. I followed this recipe and as suspected, the tomato paste was "way to much" There is nothing you can do to cover it up after it's added, it over powers the other spices. My advice is to start with about 4,OZ and add to it if not delete it altogether. At best this is some kind of cross between spaghetti sauce and chili, But hardly "the best" chili ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Okie Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe over the week-end and used pork instead of beef everything else was according to the recipe except I had downsized it to 6 serving rather than 12 as there are only two of us. I was totally unimpressed with the flavor of the of the Chili I do not know if the use of ground pork over beef entered into the taste or not. My Husband seems to have developed a allergy to beef as each time he eats beef as of late he becomes sick so we are currently avoiding beef. But I did question some of the ingredients and the taste outcome as I was preparing this recipe. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Amazing recipe! I followed the recipe minus the white wine and only used 1 can of beans. It came out perfect and had just the right amount of heat. This was my first time making chili and I don't think I will use another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bwalters425

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We made a half batch and had to improvise to use what we had. Used diced tri tip, sausage and bacon for the meat; chipotle peppers, 2 cans diced tomatoes and a whole bottle of 805. Great northern beans, 1/2 ea. red and green bellpepper, and diced canned jalapenos in place of the fresh. Added a splash of vinegar at the end. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This chili recipe is amazing! I wanted a more traditional recipe since I was in charge of bringing chili for 30 people. My old recipe calls for larger amounts of red wine. For the most part, I followed this recipe exactly. The only thing I changed was using ground turkey and decreasing the amount of chile/jalapeño peppers & tomato paste. I didn't want the chili too spicy and I only had 1/2 of the tomato paste required. I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 of a seeded jalapeño pepper. I love the fire roasted tomatoes and smoked paprika. The only thing I will add next time is some green peppers for color. I will definitely be making this again:-) Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I simply loved this recipe! The best chili ever! Thanks for sharing this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My entire family loved it! I had to skip out on the hot sauce since I didn't have any but it still had a nice kick to it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Seriously, might be the best chili I've ever made! Sorry mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is absolutely the best! I used two hand-minced meats: beef sirloin and center cut pork chops. I made this a three-bean chili: pinto, red kidney, and black beans. I omitted the wine and used Dortmunder Gold lager. Unbelievably wonderful!!! All other ingredients are spot-on. The flavor balance is superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My boyfriend raves about his ex girlfriends chili and I've never made chili before. I had to search and search for the perfect recipe to show her up. Lol found this recipe and decided to try it. I couldn't find red peppers so I used 3 jalapeños. I added a can of rotel chipotle tomatoes. Everything else kept the same. Took to work for chili cook off and I got tons of compliments and was told several times, best chili they ever ate including my boyfriend! Oh...and I won the contest. I make this often now. Best chili ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emi Avi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States