Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I modified this recipe quite a bit to fit with the ingredients I had on hand and to make it slightly lower in fat, but I still got superb results. I doubled the recipe, and in place of the carrots, I added one large can of corn. I used half butter and half olive oil instead of all margarine. I replaced the whole milk with skim milk and a small can of part-skim evaporated milk. I also left out the mustard powder, allspice, seasoning salt, cayenne pepper, and chicken boullion, replaced the celery seed with celery salt, and added some freshly ground pepper. One might argue that what I made is a completely different recipe, but this existing recipe made a great jumping-off point, and the resulting soup (or chowder, as I would call it) was still very flavorful. It would make a fantastic chowder to which to add haddock or another fish for a flavorful fish chowder. Another reviewer mentioned that this was a very thick soup - in doubling the recipe, I used a little less than twice the amount of flour called for, and the skim milk also thinned it a bit. I also cooked it for a little less than the recommended amount of time in order to keep the potatos firm, and didn't break them up with my spoon. Overall, a fantastic chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is the best potato soup recipe I have ever tasted. The combination of seasonings was just right. And lots of veggies too. Really hit the spot. Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was delicious and easy to throw together despite having worked an 8 hour day. It was quite tasty and had a yummy aroma while cooking. What I did differently: I used butter instead of margarine. I also did not use any of the following: parsley, allspice, celery seed, dried thyme, cayenee nor the chicken bullion. This is a thick soup and I'm glad I only used 2 large potatoes instead of 3. This is a great soup and I easily can see myself adding broccoli and other leftover veggies next time. It thickens up a little bit more after you put it in the fridge, if you don't like thick soup, when you reheat it, just add a scant 1/4 cup chicken stock or milk. GREAT and I look foward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is awesome..and unlike most people that try new recipes and then review them with saying I changed that or did not have that!! You cannot rate a recipe UNLESS you make it exactly like it is stated, once you do--then you may change it to your liking the second time around--this recipe is awesome...I did not change a thing, good job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
My only problem with this recipe is the over bearing taste of mustard powder.I cut it back to 1/2 tsp.on my second attempt and now I have a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was so good and I liked how I could hide vegetables in it. My husband hates mustard, but he even liked this. I used 2/3 cup powdered milk with 2 cups water for the milk. I also used 2 chicken bouillon cubes with 2 cups water. These changes just made it cheaper. I didn't have dry white wine. My extremely picky two year old even ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Yummy comfort food. Be sure to cut your potatoes into small chunks--I recommend smaller than the 1/4 inch cubes in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This soup is great! I have made it several times and my girls love it. I was missing the allspice & celery seed, but it was still fantastic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was wonderful! I had to add more milk, but this was the best potato soup I have ever had. Topped it with bacon bits, sour cream and green onions! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
"Constant tinkering" paid off for the rest of us! Thanks Kevin for a rich, hearty potato soup that hit the spot on an especially miserable winter day. Will make again (even on a sunny day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States