Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2000
The recipe is complicated, yet doesn't yield the expected results. I was looking forward to a creamy soup but it wasn't creamy at all. Maybe, you should have used half and half or heavy cream in the recipe. In my opinion, this soup would go well with some bacon in it, which is what I did when I had some and the taste wasn't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2000
This tastes just the way I like my potato soup. I have to admit, though, that I used fat-free half and half instead of the milk. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I thought the soup was very easy to prepare and it tasted great! My only problem was that is was too thick. It was impossible to reheat. After it was refrigerated it was as thick as mashed potatoes and impossible to thin out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Best cream of potato soup I found the soup spiced just right,and very creamy and easy to make. We well be sure to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2000
My only problem with this recipe is the over bearing taste of mustard powder.I cut it back to 1/2 tsp.on my second attempt and now I have a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I made this the other evening for dinner. I am glad that I doubled the recipe as there was only one bowl left in the pot. My seven year old loved it and she doesn't even like potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
The taste was terrific. I only had one problem and that was that it was far too thick - more like a porridge. 4 tablespoons of flour is too much as a thickener - at least if you're using metric measurements (maybe imperial tablespoons are bigger???). However, with what was left over, I added a bit more broth to thin it and it was perfect. Next time I try this soup, I'll only put in 1 tablespoon of thickener, which should then be perfect. 4 star rating as is, but I would upgrade this to 5 if the amount of thickener was decreased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
What a delicious soup. My husband and I just loved it. I used only 2 tbs of flour and added about 1/2 cup of milk at the end of cooking to thin it to the desired consistency. We loved the spicy little kick it had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
This was really tasty, even tho' I was missing the powdered mustard, dry white wine and chicken bouillon powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
My office decided to have a soup day at work and asked people to bring in home made soups to sell for lunch for a fund raiser. I knew I wanted to make somthing but didn't have a clue on what to make so I started hunting around for recipes and found this one. Let me now tell you that this is truley the "Best Cream of Potato" soup I have ever had. Everyone in my office loved it as well and wanted the recipe for it. So I just wanted to say Thank You to Kevin Ryan for sharing this great soup for us all to share.-Melissa from Denver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States