Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a very good recipe, i altered a few things because of not having them, or to make it a little healthier. i used half skim, half 2 percent milks, and half butter and olive oil. i did not add any chicken bouillion and probably never will because we don't keep that in the house, and i think it's great without it. i did add more chicken broth because by the time the potatoes were done cooking, the soup was very thick. i used a potato masher to break them up at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great soup. I used regular milk as I had this on hand and did not add the wine. I found it salty though, which I'm thinking was the chicken stock I used, so I would try a reduced salt type next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This truly is THE BEST Cream of Potato Soup. Very quick and easy to make. Instead of using margarine, I used butter and instead of chicken broth, I used a homemade vegetable broth. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly as printed. My husband who is a soup fanatic loved this. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Wow I just now realized I forgot the garlic! Oh well, I was planning to 5-star it anyways. Everything else I followed as written (oh had to use dry parsley so obviously used less), in spite of many impulses to make it healthier. I'm glad I went with the recipe as-written, it was a satisfying treat and helped warm up my husband who was cold all day at work! Served this with Light Wheat Rolls from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The minced garlic and onions take over this soup in texture and aroma. Not something I would present to potato soup lovers. In addition, it is the most expensive potato soup on the market. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Made it today. It is the best potato soup I ever had. I used prepared mustard---just a small squirt, and used heavy cream I wanted to use up thinned with water. I also used celery salt instead of celery seed. I added fresh corn cut from the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Just made this tonight - WOW! Great! Be careful not to overcook the potatoes - easy to do. I must have added too much of a seasoning (thyme?) and it seemed overwhelming, so I added maybe a cup of heavy cream at the end - PERFECT! I'll add heavy cream next time too. Also, as my husband thinks most cream soups require bacon, I added cooked bacon crumbled on top. Mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
It's a good easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This has become my favorite chilly afternoon warm me up soup. And I love the reactions I get from people who try it the ingredients are so unusual to a typical cream of potato and it makes all the difference in the world! This is simple to make and absolutely filling and delicious! my only alteration I make is that I boil the potatoes in the chicken stock first before cutting my veggies or anything, so the soup takes less time, and then add a small amount of cornstarch/water mix to thicken it up quickly...but thats because I'm impatient. absolutely excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States