Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
It's a good easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This has become my favorite chilly afternoon warm me up soup. And I love the reactions I get from people who try it the ingredients are so unusual to a typical cream of potato and it makes all the difference in the world! This is simple to make and absolutely filling and delicious! my only alteration I make is that I boil the potatoes in the chicken stock first before cutting my veggies or anything, so the soup takes less time, and then add a small amount of cornstarch/water mix to thicken it up quickly...but thats because I'm impatient. absolutely excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I thought this soup was awesome. I increased my chicken stock to 4 cups as well as 2 cups of 2% milk. Because I increased the liquid I added 1/3 cup flour. I OMITED mustard powder and the allspice. I replaced the celery seed with celery salt. My kids like meat so I added 2 chicken breasts that I cooked in my homemade chicken stock for the soup. I then shredded the meat. We also LOVE bacon in this house so I cooked up 10 pieces of crisp bacon to add to the soup at the end. The second time I made this soup I added 1 tsp of paprika and it tasted great as well. I also added fresh ground pepper when I was frying my veggies and then again after I added all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made this soup for dinner on a cold and windy night. Boy, did it hit the spot! The combination of seasonings is delightful. I used a combination of unsalted butter and olive oil to saute' the veggies, and added a little leftover ham to the soup. Simply wonderful! I would recommend having more chicken stock and milk on hand than the recipe calls for. I kept having to add a little more milk and stock as the soup cooked to keep it from reducing so much. Also, another note, this soup needs to be stirred very frequently to keep it from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
SO has been hounding me for Pot. Soup, which I had never made before. There are ALOT of recipes on-line. For something new (to me), I always check this site first. I love the reviews. This is the first one I have posted. This soup is GREAT! Didn't realize I was out of milk before I started, so I used 1/2 & 1/2. Since I was planning on 'blending' it, I wasn't too careful about the size of the dice, but decided to forgo the blending & I diced the potatoes instead of slicing. I added two bay leaves & 6 cloves of garlic. It was way too thick (sticking to bottom of the pot), so I ended up adding another 2c of stock. Add a loaf of homemade bread & you have a great meal on a cold winter's night. This is going in my T & T book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I didn't have all the ingredients but it is still one of the best soups I have had in awhile. I let it sit for 5 hours or more, reheated it and it tasted even better. I would recommend letting it sit and simmer longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Amazing! I did not have the mustard on hand but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a really good potato soup. I made the recipe, as posted, except I omitted the celery seed and bouillon. It is hearty and thick with complementing herbs and spices. I added grated cheddar cheese and a dollop of sour cream to serve. I would definitely make again. I would like to try substituting herbes de Provence for the thyme one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is an absolutely FANTASTIC recipe! I will however reduce the amount of cayenne by half next time (my 6 year old found it too 'burny') and I did add a little more milk to thin it out a bit. This is one that I will make over and over again. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I used a little sage instead of celery seed. And I smoothed the whole thing out with my immersion blender (my new favorite tool). It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States