Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Kevin, Great recipe thanks. Since you shared I will share a few alterations I made to this as well. I sub'd whole milk with a combo of 1/2 & 1/2 and heavy cream. Added bacon and replaced dry thyme with fresh. I also chose Yukons for their sweetness and cut them into larger chunks because they have a thin skin and cook quickly. It is amazing and the spices are perfect. Thank you again for a Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Pretty damned good recipe. A great starter for later tweaking to what ingredients you have on hand. My favorite part is how the "creaminess" is produced primarily by the added flour instead of milk (cream + water in my case since the milk was out). It makes a soup a bit lighter than most other recipes and there is already more than enough flavor from the other ingredients. And cooking the four into the soup early keeps it from tasting floury. Fun to make and fun to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Fantastic! This can also easily be made vegetarian and it's just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
AMAZING! Of all the recipes for Cream of Potato Soup on this site, I happened on this one and feel like I won the lottery! I love the fact that this isn't your average cream of potato soup recipe - this one goes above and beyond. Like others, I added more broth (vegetable) and a touch of half and half once it was almost done as well as a little Asiago cheese. Really comforting during the cold snap we're having in upstate New York. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
AWESOME! I added chopped up farmer sausage but the flavour was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious!!!! I cooked bacon in dutch oven first, removed bacon and sauted the veggies in it!!! The bacon adds a smokey delicious flavour....will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My first time making this kinda soup and turned out great. I only made enough serving for 2 as I actually made it for my VERY fussy 17-month-old eater. . . I should've made more! I did not have parsley and allspice and did not obviously use wine, cayenne pepper or bouillong powder. I also did not use chicken broth . . . I used veggie broth instead. I do admit it was a bit thick. I actually had to add a tiny bit of water (apx 1/4 cup) as it was getting so thick the potatoes were not cooking. I also think next time I will maybe not even bother using the flour. All in all, pretty good. Lets see what my liltle one has to say once he wakes up from his nap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A great recipe that lends well to tweaking. Most recipes do not call for the carrots, celery and long list of herbs/spices so add or subtract to meet your needs for that day. Always add a few more potatoes & milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe is awesome..and unlike most people that try new recipes and then review them with saying I changed that or did not have that!! You cannot rate a recipe UNLESS you make it exactly like it is stated, once you do--then you may change it to your liking the second time around--this recipe is awesome...I did not change a thing, good job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome soup. A little thick for me, so I added an extra can of chicken broth. I stayed away from the cayenne, but I think I'll add it next time. I also threw in some bacon bits when I reheated the leftovers and that gave it a nice taste as well. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States