Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. I didn't have margarine, so I used 3 tablespoons butter and a few swirls of EVOO. I used 1/2 of an onion chopped, and 1 clove of garlic. I didn't have the mustard, allspice or celery seed. And just used a dash of cayenne pepper. I had to use about a half to one cup more of broth, as the potatoes soak up the liquid. It takes about a half hour for it to totally simmer, and then you can cook for the 25 mins. Makes great left overs too. This will be my "go to" soup, for sure!! De-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I must be unusual because I really did not like this recipe. I cut the mustard powder by 1/3 and it still overpowered the soup. I cut the cayenne pepper to a smattering and it was still a little too spicy for me. There wasn't enough salt and the seasonings were a strange mix. It doesn't help my family hates mustard and celery, so maybe I'm not a reliable reviewer, but I definitely will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
i really enjoyed this version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by April0715
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Loved this. The only thing different that I did was: left out the Allspice because I didn't have any and added cheese near the end because we love cheese. Excellent recipe that I will certainly make many more times. Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Thick, creamy and filling soup! I included mushrooms and used oregano instead of thyme. I also blended most of the soup after the 25 minutes of cooking to make an even creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wow, this was impressive! The flavour is outstanding. I thought, as it was cooking, that the mustard would be overpowering as other reviewers have commented, but it mellowed as the pot simmered. I followed the recipe almost exactly, subbing wine vinegar for wine, and skipping the seasoning salt. I added a cup of broccoli (and adjusted by upping the liquids) because I needed to use it up, and it seemed right at home! Finally, I topped each serving with a sprinkle of parmesan to make up for omitting the salt. Beautiful! Not to mention it was quite quick to prepare!! We had this with ribeye steak, but the soup was way more exciting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this soup ... followed the recipe all the way ... felt it was too much prep ... did not really care for the taste of the flavoring added to it. Would prefer a potato/cheesy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I loved this potato soup I do prefer leeks to celery and added some green onions but the seasoning was genius! I never thought to out mustard powder and Worcestershire sauce in potato soup before!!! Good on you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I give the texture of this soup 5+ stars - much better than the recipe I've been using for years. But it is all seasoning and no potato when it comes to taste. I'm sorry, but I make potato soup because I like potatoes! If I hadn't been able to see the chunks of potato, I'd never have known this was potato soup. Plus, I had to more than double the broth to keep it from becoming paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Nice quick soup. Interesting blend of herbs and spices. Also works well as a vegetarian recipe by substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth and omitting the Worcestershire (substitute ? a little lemon zest).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States