Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I highly recommend to anyone who is cooking this for the first time to use only a third or even a fourth of what is called for the mustard powder. I come from a family that loves spicy food but even this was too much for me. Cut down on the mustard powder and this should be a very delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe. Tasted just like the potato soup we had at an Irish pub in Savannah. I served it with the "Irish Brown Bread" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Really enjoyed this soup, made with local organic purple potatoes! The serving size is a joke, though! I doubled, and got 6-7 servings when it claims 12. ?? Anyway, if you don't peel your potatoes (I do not), cube rather than slice, as we had long stringies of peel, which are much harder to eat than little bits of peel. A potato masher made it easier to mash, as well as stir along the bottom, but I still ended up with a bunch of burned at bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
OMG! To DIE for soup. I added 2 Tbs. of dill weed. And some ham, of course =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrchylde

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I am the "Head Chef" for "Salem-Keizer Meals On Wheels" in Salem, Oregon. I made this soup today and it was everything that you said it was. The only thing missing in mine was the thyme but It was still five stars. I changed the servings up to 20 and actually made enough for 25 people. Good thing I did because it sold out in 90 minutes. Well done Kevin and many thanks for sharing from me and 25 full bellies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Wow!!!!! we loved this soup. Used leftover coconut milk(1/2 cup) and whole milk. red potatoes and red wine. (all I had in the house). Cayenne pepper gave it a kick that we loved. Used my soup blender to combine all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was very good. I doubled the amount of potatoes, and the thyme, but the thyme was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A Great Potato Soup!!! Love the flavor and it is even better leftover! Definitely recommend to let it simmer for hours as the flavors become better blended, however you will have to add more liquid. I added water as there was enough forms of salt in the pot already. Turned out great, topped with cheddar chesse and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Many of the reviewers are correct. Great starter recipe or wonderful without changes. And to prove it I had no mustard powder, no celery and barely any celery seed and well no thyme or white wine. Pitiful I know but the cupboards are slim right now. So instead I added a dash of chili powder, a dash of cumin and 1 whole can of corn. Instead of whole milk I used evaporated milk. FAMILY LOVES IT ALREADY AND it's not even done cooking! I would recommend this as is or have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was excited to try this recipe after all of the positive reviews, and it did not disappoint! I loved every bite of it. I followed the recipe exactly as written only omitting the seasoning salt because I didn't have any. I used salt and pepper in it's place. I also added a tad more cayenne because I love spice. This is a must make for hearty soup lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States