Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe is good, however I cut the mustard amount in half because it is a little overbearing. I also added diced ham and a can of corn. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe!! I added 2 cloves of garlic as someone else suggested and some bacon to the soup as it cooked and reserved some bacon to sprinkle on top when served. Made a rich and hearty lunch served with some toasted sour dough bread! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I found the thyme was a bit strong for my taste. I'd reduce it to a pinch and add more if needed, next try.I cut the margarine in half and used some half and half cream, about 1/2 cup. Also, I added the parsely towards the end of the cooking time. I'd make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A-mazing! Delicious with just a little bit of heat at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
It was a bit on the bland side. With all the seasonings I was expecting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is now my go to recipe for Potato soup. It works well by itself but we often add chicken, turkey bacon or cooked sausages to it. Its pretty much a guarantee that there will be a batch of this in my freezer just waiting for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
The texture of this soup ended up being like mashed potatoes for me. Not sure if I used too big of potatoes or what, but the flavor was just alright imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I highly recommend to anyone who is cooking this for the first time to use only a third or even a fourth of what is called for the mustard powder. I come from a family that loves spicy food but even this was too much for me. Cut down on the mustard powder and this should be a very delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe. Tasted just like the potato soup we had at an Irish pub in Savannah. I served it with the "Irish Brown Bread" recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Really enjoyed this soup, made with local organic purple potatoes! The serving size is a joke, though! I doubled, and got 6-7 servings when it claims 12. ?? Anyway, if you don't peel your potatoes (I do not), cube rather than slice, as we had long stringies of peel, which are much harder to eat than little bits of peel. A potato masher made it easier to mash, as well as stir along the bottom, but I still ended up with a bunch of burned at bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States