Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
OMG! To DIE for soup. I added 2 Tbs. of dill weed. And some ham, of course =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrchylde

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I am the "Head Chef" for "Salem-Keizer Meals On Wheels" in Salem, Oregon. I made this soup today and it was everything that you said it was. The only thing missing in mine was the thyme but It was still five stars. I changed the servings up to 20 and actually made enough for 25 people. Good thing I did because it sold out in 90 minutes. Well done Kevin and many thanks for sharing from me and 25 full bellies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Wow!!!!! we loved this soup. Used leftover coconut milk(1/2 cup) and whole milk. red potatoes and red wine. (all I had in the house). Cayenne pepper gave it a kick that we loved. Used my soup blender to combine all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was very good. I doubled the amount of potatoes, and the thyme, but the thyme was a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A Great Potato Soup!!! Love the flavor and it is even better leftover! Definitely recommend to let it simmer for hours as the flavors become better blended, however you will have to add more liquid. I added water as there was enough forms of salt in the pot already. Turned out great, topped with cheddar chesse and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Fabulous! Many of the reviewers are correct. Great starter recipe or wonderful without changes. And to prove it I had no mustard powder, no celery and barely any celery seed and well no thyme or white wine. Pitiful I know but the cupboards are slim right now. So instead I added a dash of chili powder, a dash of cumin and 1 whole can of corn. Instead of whole milk I used evaporated milk. FAMILY LOVES IT ALREADY AND it's not even done cooking! I would recommend this as is or have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I was excited to try this recipe after all of the positive reviews, and it did not disappoint! I loved every bite of it. I followed the recipe exactly as written only omitting the seasoning salt because I didn't have any. I used salt and pepper in it's place. I also added a tad more cayenne because I love spice. This is a must make for hearty soup lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a great potato soup recipe. If you are not worried about calories sub heavy cream for 1/2 of milk. My family loves it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlackEye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was an amazing recipe. I didn't have margarine, so I used 3 tablespoons butter and a few swirls of EVOO. I used 1/2 of an onion chopped, and 1 clove of garlic. I didn't have the mustard, allspice or celery seed. And just used a dash of cayenne pepper. I had to use about a half to one cup more of broth, as the potatoes soak up the liquid. It takes about a half hour for it to totally simmer, and then you can cook for the 25 mins. Makes great left overs too. This will be my "go to" soup, for sure!! De-Lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States