Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
The flavor of this soup is excellent but it is way too thick as written in the recipe. I had to add 3 cups more milk to keep the liquid high enough to cook the potatoes and have any liquid left over for "soup". You don't need to use a "large stock pot" for the amount of liquid in the original recipe. Even after adding another 3 cups of mllk, my stock pot (8 quarts) was only about 1/3 full. After adding more milk, the soup was the perfect thickness for us and had excellent flavor. I substituted 3 tablespoons of olive oil for 3 tablespoons of the butter to cut back on the saturated fat. I doubt if this had any effect on the flavor of the soup and it makes it a bit healthier. I also substituted 1 1/2 cups water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes for the 1 1/2 cups chicken broth and 1/4 teaspoon chicken granules stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Excellent-I added one can of drained corn. Awesome recipe. Everyone loved it! I served with good crusty bread and butter and fruit salad. Delish. Also-quite economical and a meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've made a lot of potato soups in my day and many from this site. This is the best I have ever made. I was worried about the seasonings so I went light on them and I did add about 1/2 cup more each of milk and broth, used salt instead of chicken bouillon, and veggie broth and I added corn for my kids at the end because they love corn in their potato soup. Next time I will double the recipe because this got eaten up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Husband pronounced it "Wonderful!." Easy, deliciouso, just throw in the vegetalbles you have on hand! This recipe can handle it. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This recipe is good, however I cut the mustard amount in half because it is a little overbearing. I also added diced ham and a can of corn. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe!! I added 2 cloves of garlic as someone else suggested and some bacon to the soup as it cooked and reserved some bacon to sprinkle on top when served. Made a rich and hearty lunch served with some toasted sour dough bread! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I found the thyme was a bit strong for my taste. I'd reduce it to a pinch and add more if needed, next try.I cut the margarine in half and used some half and half cream, about 1/2 cup. Also, I added the parsely towards the end of the cooking time. I'd make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
A-mazing! Delicious with just a little bit of heat at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
It was a bit on the bland side. With all the seasonings I was expecting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is now my go to recipe for Potato soup. It works well by itself but we often add chicken, turkey bacon or cooked sausages to it. Its pretty much a guarantee that there will be a batch of this in my freezer just waiting for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States