Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I pretty much followed this recipe as written. THe only thing I did or didn't do was add a whole onion. I used half of one, I had to simmer for about an hour to get the potatoes done (I had them sliced very thin) and it started to get a tad thick at the end so I added a touch more of chicken broth. I will make this again. I like the fact that it doesn't use half and half or heavy cream. Those are not things I keep on hand, but I always have whole milk for my youngster! My husband had the same thought as I did about the flavor and that is that it had an overwhelming taste of celery. I will omit the celery seasoning next time. The cayanne pepper gives it a perfect heat factor. I think a little more Worcestershire and white wine would be tasty too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Quick n easy wife love it ; plus it was very close to my grandma's without all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Yum. Yum. Never made potato soup before and this recipe is going in the permanent file. I love the spices. I did not puree the soup as others recommended. I was afraid of the taters becoming gummy. However I made a couple of changes. I used only 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup of 2% milk, as that was all I had in the fridge. And then 2 cups of chicken stock. I also added a little chopped bacon to the saute. This soup was really thick, but very hearty with some crusty french bread. My husband and I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Now this is what my idea of Potato Soup should taste like. I used butter, more carrots,less dry mustard and added a touch of thyme and marjoram. I also used Better than Boullion dissolved in a cup of water. Came out perfect for my tastebuds! Thanks for the recipe, Kevin,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is now my potato soup recipe! I have found that the flavor and consistency is better to let it simmer for a few hours and add 1 cup shredded cheese at the end. I also use more potatoes and 2% milk. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is the best soup I have ever made! I made a few little changes out of necessity, I substituted vegetarian broth for chicken broth and broccoli for the carrots, and I added a small can of mushrooms and topped with cheddar cheese. This is definetly the best potato soup I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe said and then pureed it to get a creamier consistency. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Excellent soup. My wife does not relishes Celery a lot but I made this and then pureed the soup. It was great. Will be making this a number of times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was delicious and easy to throw together despite having worked an 8 hour day. It was quite tasty and had a yummy aroma while cooking. What I did differently: I used butter instead of margarine. I also did not use any of the following: parsley, allspice, celery seed, dried thyme, cayenee nor the chicken bullion. This is a thick soup and I'm glad I only used 2 large potatoes instead of 3. This is a great soup and I easily can see myself adding broccoli and other leftover veggies next time. It thickens up a little bit more after you put it in the fridge, if you don't like thick soup, when you reheat it, just add a scant 1/4 cup chicken stock or milk. GREAT and I look foward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very tasty though not traditional. I made it exactly as written, next time I'll go a little easier on the mustard and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States