Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Now this is what my idea of Potato Soup should taste like. I used butter, more carrots,less dry mustard and added a touch of thyme and marjoram. I also used Better than Boullion dissolved in a cup of water. Came out perfect for my tastebuds! Thanks for the recipe, Kevin,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is now my potato soup recipe! I have found that the flavor and consistency is better to let it simmer for a few hours and add 1 cup shredded cheese at the end. I also use more potatoes and 2% milk. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is the best soup I have ever made! I made a few little changes out of necessity, I substituted vegetarian broth for chicken broth and broccoli for the carrots, and I added a small can of mushrooms and topped with cheddar cheese. This is definetly the best potato soup I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe said and then pureed it to get a creamier consistency. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Excellent soup. My wife does not relishes Celery a lot but I made this and then pureed the soup. It was great. Will be making this a number of times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Living In: Urbana, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe was delicious and easy to throw together despite having worked an 8 hour day. It was quite tasty and had a yummy aroma while cooking. What I did differently: I used butter instead of margarine. I also did not use any of the following: parsley, allspice, celery seed, dried thyme, cayenee nor the chicken bullion. This is a thick soup and I'm glad I only used 2 large potatoes instead of 3. This is a great soup and I easily can see myself adding broccoli and other leftover veggies next time. It thickens up a little bit more after you put it in the fridge, if you don't like thick soup, when you reheat it, just add a scant 1/4 cup chicken stock or milk. GREAT and I look foward to making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very tasty though not traditional. I made it exactly as written, next time I'll go a little easier on the mustard and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I usually double it and add a cup of shredded cheddar cheese at the end. Flavor is best if you have time to let it simmer for a few hours. I use 2%milk to reduce the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Still the best I ever had or made. Everytime I share it with others they rave as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This soup was good, but it was not exactly what I think of when I think of potato soup. It was almost more how oyter stew looks. I was expecting a thick and creamy traditional potato soup...not this. It was still ok though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States