Best Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
The flavor of this soup is awesome. Perfect balance of herbs and spices for a great taste. My husband loved it! A keeper for sure! I will however cube the potatoes instead of slicing them next time so they don't take quite as long to cook...they took longer than the recipes stated 25 mins. Overall a winner though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Pretty darn good soup! I added a lot of dill, substituted sour cream for half the milk, and dropped the white wine, to make it more similar in flavour to my pureed cream of potato. I also matchsticked the potatoes, and didn't bother smooshing them with a spoon. My family usually prefers cream soups, but this one's been a hit in spite of it's relative chunkiness. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I just made this for Christmas dinner and it was wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenebrae_tec

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Great flavor...the kids loved it and that says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I pretty much followed this recipe as written. THe only thing I did or didn't do was add a whole onion. I used half of one, I had to simmer for about an hour to get the potatoes done (I had them sliced very thin) and it started to get a tad thick at the end so I added a touch more of chicken broth. I will make this again. I like the fact that it doesn't use half and half or heavy cream. Those are not things I keep on hand, but I always have whole milk for my youngster! My husband had the same thought as I did about the flavor and that is that it had an overwhelming taste of celery. I will omit the celery seasoning next time. The cayanne pepper gives it a perfect heat factor. I think a little more Worcestershire and white wine would be tasty too! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Quick n easy wife love it ; plus it was very close to my grandma's without all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Yum. Yum. Never made potato soup before and this recipe is going in the permanent file. I love the spices. I did not puree the soup as others recommended. I was afraid of the taters becoming gummy. However I made a couple of changes. I used only 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup of 2% milk, as that was all I had in the fridge. And then 2 cups of chicken stock. I also added a little chopped bacon to the saute. This soup was really thick, but very hearty with some crusty french bread. My husband and I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Now this is what my idea of Potato Soup should taste like. I used butter, more carrots,less dry mustard and added a touch of thyme and marjoram. I also used Better than Boullion dissolved in a cup of water. Came out perfect for my tastebuds! Thanks for the recipe, Kevin,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is now my potato soup recipe! I have found that the flavor and consistency is better to let it simmer for a few hours and add 1 cup shredded cheese at the end. I also use more potatoes and 2% milk. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is the best soup I have ever made! I made a few little changes out of necessity, I substituted vegetarian broth for chicken broth and broccoli for the carrots, and I added a small can of mushrooms and topped with cheddar cheese. This is definetly the best potato soup I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States