Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I am not going to give it a rating because I changed a lot of things. (they are making me rate it to submit, I give myself 5 stars!! First, I added 3 whole cloves of garlic with celery, onion, butter mixture. Second, I added 1 good sized potato cut into 2 inch chunks Three, I added carrots (about 2 cups worth whole baby sized) Four, I used a whole head of broccoli. same amount of water/stock brought to a boil then dropped to a simmer till potatoes were done (about 30 mins) I did blend the soup in stages as I had left everything very, VERY chunky. For the roux, I doubled the butter and flour to 6T each as per another poster but used 2 cups of milk. Salt and peppered the veggies before mixing in my roux. It is going to be thick, like, wall paper paste thick, but I like it that way. HOLY COW! This is the BEST FREAKIN' SOUP EVAR! It reminds me of the cream of vegetable soup from A.O.C. L'aile ou la Cuisse in NYC's West Village on Bleecker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I was really excited to make this soup. My sister had an endoscopy on her throat today and I wanted to make something for her to eat that wouldn't hurt going down in case her throat was sore. She enjoyed it very much but I didn't. I will try it again though and give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I tweaked it like others and added garlic and carrot while I sautéed the celery and onion. I just think that's always a great base. I also mashed with a potato masher as suggested since I do like some chunks in my soup. Tonight, I wanted something a little cheesy so I added about a cup of cheddar to the roux before adding that to the soup. It's great! I love the versatility of either going creamy or cheesy! I will definitely make this again and depending on my mood - might leave out the cheese. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foleymk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I tried it but added the heavy cream, baby carrots and red pepper flakes after reading some of the reviews while I was cooking. I forgot to put the nutmeg in. Not sure if that would have conflicted with the spicy. I crumbled up pita chips and tossed them in for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margiedvh
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I love this recipe In this recipe I used skim milk , I can't believe it butter light ,n velveeta 2% milk cheese n a small potatoe since i didnt have celery.in little pieces.I didn't use frozen broccoli I bought fresh broccoli cut it up in small pieces n u can use low sodium broth or make it ur self.Since I didn't have broth I had GOYA powdered chicken bouillon used 4 pkg n w 8 cups of water Just do what the direction tell u but I used lighter version ingredients.Oh I added a can of chicken breast to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margiedvh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Alittle bland for me..but I added salt and cheese and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I used a potato masher to make a chunkier soup per others reviews. I also used skim milk since I feel whole milk or cream are a complete waste of calories in soup. That said, while good, this soup tasted just a little too healthy to satisfy me as a meal. So when I reheated the leftovers I grated a whole 8 oz block of moterey jack cheese into it. Voila! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The soup is a little bland for my taste, but works as a good base recipe. I added more seasoning, and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Very good but made a few modifications to meet my preferences. I added 2 tsp of salt with the broth, a cup of chopped carrots with the celery and onion, 3/4 c. shredded sharp cheddar, and substituted half and half for the milk. Even with these changes, the calories for a 2 cup serving was 400 calories. I ate this as a meal with a slice of wheat artisan bread from the grocery store deli. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made it as written. I used SOME of the stalk, not ALL of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States