Best Cream Of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love this soup. I made some minor tweaks such as.... Add a few pieces of cauliflower. I steamed my broccoli & cauliflower while I saluted the other ingredients. This saved on time. I used 2 stalks of celery and a tsp of minced garlic. A dash of adobo. Once simmered added everything to my ninja blender. Puréed until smooth (personal preference). OMG!!! The blender gave the soup the creamy texture without the milk. Even so...I added 1/4 cup of light cream and 1/4 cup 1% milk and followed the remaining directions. Delicious perfection. Got the thumbs up from both of my kids (who don't do green ANYTHING). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made the recipe as posted, found it to be OK, tweaked it some and liked it a lot more. My variations: 1. Melt all 5 T butter called for, saute celery and onion, add flour, make a roux and cook gently till veggies are tender and the roux is light golden. (This step adds more work but takes away the flour taste other cooks noticed.) 2. Add broth and cook till thick. Then add broccoli and simmer till tender but not overdone. 3. Add milk and bring just to a simmer. Put 1/4 to 1/3 of soup through blender and return the blenderized soup to the remainder. This is for people who like creamy soups that are still chunky. 4. For spicier soup: add Spike, chili powder and/or garlic. 5. For richer soup: stir in 2 cups shredded cheese at the end. I usually use sharp cheddar. I have tried all these variations and usually use them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea_333

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm giving 5*...however, this is what I feel needs to be altered slightly; I don't use celery (personal preference) I do add a good pinch of oregano & marjoram and it's very important that if you want a good thick soup, make sure your broth doesn't cover the broccoli (just enough broth that the florets still poke out if perfect) also, I double the butter for the cream sauce and use heaping spoons for flour as I want a real rich & thick cream sauce. I add the cream sauce to the broccoli & broth when the broccoli is tender then use an immersion blender because I like the odd chunk. That's it! enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is the best basic soup for all kinds of vegetables, such as broccoli, asparagus, carrot, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I added 2 cups shredded mild cheddar. This is a great recipe. Quick and delicious consistency. Just what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reyes0505

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good soup! I added garlic, used frozen broccoli and potato masher to break up the broccoli instead of pureeing. I added sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon at the end to it. My husband and 5 year old ate it all. The 3 year old snubbed it since it had green things in it , but overall great soup and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tgarza
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe was genuinely good! I used 2% milk, and it came out a little less creamy than I would have liked, whole milk would probably give it a bit more flavor. The potato masher instead of a blender was a great idea, it keeps the texture a bit more chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Good recipe. I doubled it. Added 2 cloves garlic, 2 carrots, 8 ounces chopped mushrooms, 1 tbl fresh parsley and 1 tsp tarragon. Cooked down onions, celery and carrots first then added mushrooms, garlic and spices with one cup of broth. In seperate pot cooked down the broccoli in the rest of the broth and added half of that to onion mix and pureed. Using a potatoe masher mashed remaining broccoli and added that. I needed very little white sauce to thicken the soup cooking it this way. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I wanted to get excited about this but just can't. It is just gritty broccoli in a milky base. I too left some chunks out and added them back in after blending. I used half cream in place of the cup of milk. Nothing worked. Where is the salt in this recipe? I even added some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadianGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States