Best Cream Of Broccoli and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I used what I had in the fridge. I used 1 TBS olive oil and about 3/4 TBS butter. I substituted 3 Leeks,(White part only), for the onion and I only used 2 cloves of Garlic. I added 2 chopped Carrots, and used 3 Red Potatoes. I didn't think that there was enough liquid so I substituted 3 cans of Turkey Broth instead of only 3 cups. I did use an immersion blender and gently chopped the mixture leaving some larger pieces. To thicken the mixture, I used 3 TBS instant potato flakes, and 12 oz. whole milk. This makes 5 Two cup servings. Top with low fat Sharp Cheddar Cheese and you have a relatively low fat and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent. I skipped the cream, just whole milk was way creamy enough for me. Used more potato and Better Than Bouillion; Vegetable Base instead of broth and Penzy's Sandwich Sprinkle, topped with grated cheddar. Why buy canned soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I did not care for the recipe. I found it bland. Once I messed with it a lot, it was okay. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have some issues with recipes as written. 8-10 mins is way too long to sauté onions, but more importantly you never cook garlic as long as onions, or garlic turns bitter. Garlic only needs about 2-3 minutes. I added shredded carrots and sautéed celery with onions. Much needed flavor. Other than that this is a decent base recipe. I always use instant potato flakes to thicken gravies and cream based soups. Healthier, gluten, free and simpler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great soup. Nice and thick. Added a couple of cups of shredded cheddar to the milk and cream mixture. How can you go wrong with broccoli and cheese! Yum!just made it again. This time I added a couple of cups of diced cooked ham. Even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I just made this but added a little blue cheese and some cheddar and it was amazing! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I wasn't blown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I tried it like the recipe says the first time and it got 5 stars, but the second time I shredded two potatoes, left out the whipping cream and changed the milk to evaporated milk. I left the garlic out and I added some tiny bits of steamed broccoli to the soup after it was done. I'm cooking for the really elderly and they gave it five stars, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this for my 90 year old mom because she likes cream of broccoli soup. I always said "I don't care for creamed soups" but this one has changed that statement. I really enjoyed this soup and my mom loved it! So glad I tried it, now I have another great soup to add to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Ok, a lot of work but tasty with asiago cheese added and dill, basic weeknight recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mohegan Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States