Best Cranberry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My whole family gave this a thumbs up. I used all the same ingredients, but changed the methods. Using bone-in thighs, I removed the skin, trimmed the fat, and seasoned it with garlic salt and pepper. Then, I just mixed all the other ingredients (minus butter because I didn't cook the onions beforehand) and poured it over the top and baked it at 360 for about an hour (just until the internal temperature reached 170). Cranberries were WONDERFUL in this, and the meat was so tender and flavorful just like it was slow-cooked. went with steamed rice. DELISH! Update: passed this recipe on to my friend who is a beginner cook and she said "it was a hit" with her family. Thanks again for posting this. I now keep whole cranberry sauce as a "regular" stock item in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I submitted this recipe, and I just wanted to add that I usually use chicken breast (I feel the contrast between the moist cranberries and the white meat is better than if it were brown meat) and I also use red wine vinegar (I'm not sure where they got apple cider vinegar from)and the chicken is great with steamed rice, thanks Andrea J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was one of my Mom's favorite recipes. She found it in Sunset Magazine years ago. It is delicious serve with steamed rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Turns out I didn't have any chicken, but I did have some meatballs frozen. I did the sauce and put them in the crockpot. 6 hours later on low it was fabulous!!! This is some awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Whole family liked this, my husband LOVED it. I used the chicken breasts and baslamic vinegar (didn't have red wine vinegar) after I read what misscarolb wrote as corrections to the original recipe she submitted. I cooked everything at 350 because I used boneless breasts and a pyrex dish. I forgot to add the brown sugar, but it didn't need it, as it was very sweet without it. I misread the recipe and took the onions right out after cooking them at the beginning for 15 min. and put them into the sauce, but it still tasted fine. I turned the chicken in the butter so both sides got some, and baked covered with foil for about 20 min. Then I put the sauce on and baked covered about 10 more minutes. I took the cover off for the remainder of the time until the chicken was 165 F inside. Lots of delicious sauce. Great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was great. I used my slow cooker and I did substitute chicken breasts for the thighs - great recipe!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
sweeeeeeeeeet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cipryan83
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I just made this tonight and paired it with mashed potatoes. I used 1.5lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs and kept the sauce measurements the same. The step of scooping the onions into the sauce, what about the chicken broth already in the dish with the chicken? I combined it to the cranberry mixture because the instructions didn't specify not to. This might be the reason why my sauce was a little on the soupy side. I must add that the overall flavor is a little too sweet. I will definitely be making this again but will be using less sugar. The flavor is tangy, sweet and sour, it reminds me of BBQ sauce, in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I thought this was just OK, not bad but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Good, but not amazing. The good thing is, it was very easy to make. However, I thought the combination of flavors became one big oniony-ketchupy mess. Certainly more than tolerable, but a bit unnatural. I think the vinegar, onion and ketchup detracted from the subtle delightfulness of the cranberry. Still, most people would rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Budget Friendly Chicken Oreganato

See a super-simple way to prepare flavorful lemony chicken thighs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States