Best Cocktail Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
this is so simple everyone raved!!! instead of making meatballs purchased from costco a bag of small meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
These did not impress me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I don't eat beef but judging by my friends' reaction, they get 5*****! Many compliments and I admit the smell of the sauce slow cooking in the CrockPot was delicious to me! I used slightly over 1lb. of beef and had no problems with the balls being too 'wet' but also sprinkled some seasoned breadcrumbs anyway. Half BBQ sauce/half Ketchup for the sauce. I broiled for 10 min then put in CrockPot for 3 hrs --> were slightly overdone this way though. A hit appetizer and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
The meat mixture was too soupy...I wonder if there are supposed to be breadcrumbs or cracker crumbs or something. I added cracker crumbs and it worked well. I only used half the amount of onion soup mix, and it was plenty! Tasty, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
What a simple recipe...and very tasty sauce! The second time I made this, I didn't have time to make the meatballs, so I used cocktail weiners. I also doubled the ketchup and brown sugar, except instead of double the ketchup, I added 1/2 ketchup and 1/2 KC Masterpeice Honey Smoke BBQ sauce. I left it in the slow cooker on low for about 6 hours so that the weiners and sauce really got to cook together. It was such a hit that I printed copies of the recipe and handed them out to over a dozen guests who asked for it!! The wonderful thing about this recipe is that the base recipe is so simple, that "playing around", being creative, and really experimenting with different ingrediants will make everyone happy who tries this recipe. With a little imagination, the possibilities of this recipe are endless! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Easy and excellent. Better than any other recipe I have tried for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 221BBAKERSTREET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frostburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Berryville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
It does need something to hold the meatballs together...I find cooking them in the oven a couple extra minutes, maybe 5, works well. Very easy to make and the sauce is a simple crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Overall not a bad recipe. I made this for dinner last night. Very easy to make. I would have left it cooking in the slow cooker longer though, maybe even overnight to really let the sauce cook in. Turn it on low heat and leave it for the next night. I too added the extra lb. of ground beef, I don't think it would have stayed together otherwise. Then for the sauce you'll need to double the sugar and ketchup. Instead I left the ketchup and sugar as it was and also added 1 can of crushed pineapple and 1 cup of my favorite BBQ sauce. The sauce was great, but next time I might add some crushed red pepper or hot sauce to it as well. It is a fantastic base recipe though, better than buying frozen meatballs, and if you just play with it a bit to get it how you really want it, it'll be your favorite meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is a really simple and tasty appetizer! I highly recommend it to all. I was a little leary about the ketchup and brown sugar thing but it was delicious!!! I don't have kids to try it on so I tested it out on the people I work with and they disappeared! (the meatballs, not the people!)One person even ate them at 10am!! Definately try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I made this for a recent Christmas party. I ended up eating about ten of them after they got out of the oven. They were very tasty. The sauce could be improved, you could use your own variations. Overall though this was an easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DASJAZMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States