Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Grew up in Detroit like a lot of reviewers and now live in Colorado. Can't tell you how excited I was to see this pop up in my email this week. This is a Michigan family favorite that I always forget about. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I grew up in a polish family in Michigan....and just loved this as a little girl.....like 60 years ago. Wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Havan't tried yet, but will asap-have to figure out how to low-salt .5 stars ahead because I haven't thought of it for a while and it was a childhood favorite of mine in South Bend, In. I always liked the ground version best, but the cubed was great too. I will post after trying! Thans so much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
City chicken has become our Christmas Day staple. One change we make is, after frying the "chicken", we bake it in a large roaster with sliced onions and chicken broth. The broth can then be used to make gravy for mashed potatoes. YUM! We also use beef and pork and sometimes veal, if it's on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLaina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I am from Oregon and my Mom made this for special occasions. She would alternate pork and veal on the scewers. It was so good. I would get up early the next morning and eat any that were left over. They are good cold. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
yes you must use cracker meal, not bread crumbs. just made it a few weeks ago just like my mom did , the good POLISH way, and it was yummy made 55 of i not even have left overs, my family favorite family dinner meal, lot of work but worth it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Selman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Center Line, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Like the other Chicago gal said, my dad's family (older aunts) made them and we called them mock chicken legs. Glad to see recipe here. I am sure I will make someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
My family requests this on all special occasions! I switched to just pork as the only meat many years ago. The only thing I do differently is I add and mix a couple chicken bouillion cubes to the water before putting in the oven. Delicious flaver. Usually takes my meat about an hour to get tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Growing up in Pittsburgh, we had this dish often and I still make it. We used pork and veal and plain bread crumbs . . . dipping in milk first, then bread crumbs, eggs and more crumbs. We didn't fry them, just melted half Crisco and half butter in the oven, using a 9x13 glass baking pan . . . about 20 min. per side. 350 electric oven and 335 for gas . . . then drain on papers towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Grew up in Michigan...learned from Mom...was thrilled when she said, "oh, you use breadcrumbs" and then learned WE use saltine cracker crumbs. City chicken was to replace REAL expensive chickens(remember "chicken in every pot") political slogan so crackers were even cheaper than breadcrumbs. I just dip in egg wash, then roll in cracker crumbs, s&p, then brown, place in sprayed baking dish, pour drippings(oink) from browning over including the bits of cracker that fall off (if you don't eat them)and cover w/aluminimum foil. Remove foil about 10 min. before done. We were taught "mock chicken" or "veal birds" were ground meat on a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States