Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have a much lighter version of this recipe that does not use oil and is baked. I have used it since I was married 48 years ago. I first used veal but as it became more scare and expensive I switched to Pork and we like it just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've made city chicken for 50 years ... now that veal is so expensive I have been using pork & boness chicken breast. I also cook them on the stove top but think I will try baking them next time. If you put the prepared city chicken on a dish & cover with a plastic wrap ... then refrigerate for several hours or overnight the breading doesn't fall off while browing or cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I want to try this one - and have sent to my mom to see how she used to make it - I remember more of a flour breading, and also some degree of sauting in a pan first - I loved this! Grew up in Pittsburgh PA, but mom was from Lodi CA of Germanic parents...... butcher shop in FL when I was a teen used to sell these, with both veal and pork, and my local butcher in Lodi says they used to sell in the past...... but no more..... But this is a keeper and needs to be brought back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This must be a "OHIO" thing because I'm also from NE Ohio & my mom made this with mashed potatoes and gravy! Yummy! I only used the pork and I "double dip" the breading! My own family loved this when they were little because No Bones & easily breaks up off the skewers to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Must be an extremely regional dish. I grew up in both Eastern PA and Indianapolis IN and have never heard of if. Sounds good and can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I also grew up in Detroit but now I live in Oklahoma. This was one of my favorite meals. I need to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rogema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I've never made City Chicken before, but this looked good and fairly easy. I was right. I did find that I had plenty of egg and bread crumbs left, so I think halving those will be adequate next time. I also used a previous reviewers suggestion of using chicken stock instead of water, then using that to make a gravy to serve with mashed potatoes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I grew up in Pittsburgh and make these with pork and veal. I now live in New York and my younger daughter asks for them for her birthday dinner every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I, too, am from NE Ohio and this recipe brought back many wonderful memories and a few chuckles, It's always been hard describing city "chicken" to my friends from other parts of the country. Thanks for the recipe and the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
YUM! Boy did this bring back great memories. My husband is mad at me, that it took soooooo long to make this for dinner. The only thing I'll do different next time, is to only batter it once. Thank you Jennifer for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States