Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
All I can say is WOW!! I've been looking for a city chicken recipe forever. It's one of my husband's favorite meals from his childhood (and yes, we're from NE Ohio). This recipe was my first attempt at making this dish and the hubby said it was even better than his mom's! Even my kids loved it. There weren't any leftovers. =) Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pappas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this many times when my kids were small using veal and pork. A very good friend of our family from Michigan used to make these and gave the recipe to my mom and of course she passed it on to me...LOVE IT! I haven't made it in a while, forgot it....but I'm going to make it this week and have the kids over for dinner...brings back many memories. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My Mom used to buy these already on skewers at the D & C grocery on Plymouth Rd. in Redford Township, Michigan. She would cook in the pressure cooker, so easy and quick. These are the best, thank you for sharing with the rest of the country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I tweekec this recipe ad little. I used dried shredded coconut instead of breadcrumbs and it was a great treat! I also added some veggies to the skewers, they seemed so much like shish kabobs that I couldn't resist. It still turned out great. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have a much lighter version of this recipe that does not use oil and is baked. I have used it since I was married 48 years ago. I first used veal but as it became more scare and expensive I switched to Pork and we like it just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I've made city chicken for 50 years ... now that veal is so expensive I have been using pork & boness chicken breast. I also cook them on the stove top but think I will try baking them next time. If you put the prepared city chicken on a dish & cover with a plastic wrap ... then refrigerate for several hours or overnight the breading doesn't fall off while browing or cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I want to try this one - and have sent to my mom to see how she used to make it - I remember more of a flour breading, and also some degree of sauting in a pan first - I loved this! Grew up in Pittsburgh PA, but mom was from Lodi CA of Germanic parents...... butcher shop in FL when I was a teen used to sell these, with both veal and pork, and my local butcher in Lodi says they used to sell in the past...... but no more..... But this is a keeper and needs to be brought back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This must be a "OHIO" thing because I'm also from NE Ohio & my mom made this with mashed potatoes and gravy! Yummy! I only used the pork and I "double dip" the breading! My own family loved this when they were little because No Bones & easily breaks up off the skewers to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Must be an extremely regional dish. I grew up in both Eastern PA and Indianapolis IN and have never heard of if. Sounds good and can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I also grew up in Detroit but now I live in Oklahoma. This was one of my favorite meals. I need to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rogema

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States