Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Discovering this recipe blew me away. Mom made for years, and so did I when I married, but married a southerner. Made it married for him, but I guess thru the years I adapted to souther style cooking . I didn't abandon yankee stuff sompletely, but this one slipped my mind. It's been years. Okay, I listened to some advice and just dredged w/flour, egg w/milk, bread crumbs. One advised to just bake on slightly greased cookie sheet (they are baking now as I speak), I used cooking spray. But, with cookie sheet, you didn't say whether or not to use tin foil. So I didn't, but little unsure cause don't want to dry out, but we'll see. I do remember mom double dipping and yes, did fall off, so didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My Grandmother and Mother always made these. They use to marinate the cube pork with a little olive oil and garlic overnight. This really flavors them. Then what I do the next day is, I dip them in egg white or egg beaters, then flavored bread crumbs, then brown in oil then put on rack in baking dish. I don't eat eggs and these come out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
In the early 60's, I worked in the meat department of a large grocery in Cincinnati. We created "City Chicken" kits using pork and veal cubes packaged with wooden skewers. We also created "Mock City Chicken" by grinding together pork, veal, and beef. I formed 6" "sausages", rolled them in cracker crumbs, and packaged them with wooden skewers. Housewives knew what to do with them at home! Families loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great receipe. My family loved it!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T - WOW! The taste was amazing! I cooked for the exact time & temp. & the meat turned out SO tender & juicy - my family loved it & scarfed it down in no time flat! Thank You for the yummy addition to my monthly menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this exactly as stated and it was perfect, just the way mom used to make when I was a kid. Even my picky 2 year old liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I used pork. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabecheffie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
THis was great>>>> I grew up in Northeast Ohio and Michigan and this was great>>>>>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Very Good Flavor. It didn't crisp up as I would have liked, next time I will bake it differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Grew up in Canada and my mother and aunt made this all the time for family get togethers. Yummmy.... reminded me of my childhood and i have a batch in the oven right now - didn't have veal so just using pork. Liked the idea of paprika so have added that, .. did the egg and breadcrumbs and forgot the milk, added broth to the pan and covered with foil. hope it turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States