Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I haven't made city chicken in over a decade. It just wasn't something that seemed to catch on with my young kids. Recently a friend was talking about making it, so I looked up this recipe and gave it another shot. My teens love it! My youngest asked why we dont do this all the time! I made exactly as stated, except didnt have seasoned crumbs so I seasoned some plain ones myself. This will go on a regular rotation now. Very easy, not too time consuming, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I too grew up in the Midwest and remember my mom making this when I was a child with pork and veal cubes. I prepared exactly as indicated and found it to be a trip back to my childhood. The meat was tender and moist but the breading crisp as a result of the last step. I think the next time I make it I will marinate with garlic overnight as previously suggested and then maybe try panko crumbs dolled up with my own blend of seasoning. I also think I will bake over chicken stock instead of plain water. If I really want to feel guilty I might make a gravy using the bits left in the pan after browning along with the baking stock. I closed my eyes and thought I was back in my mother's kitchen. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The meat came out tough. I paid $8.00/lb. so I don't think it was the actual meat. I'll try one of the other recipes with the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
what can I say but Great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I'm from Pittsburgh, grew up w/ these and just love them! Our grocery stores do sell the meat already cubed w/ the sticks, so It's makes life a little easier. This is basically the way that my mom always made these, except she never double dipped them and never used the water, which I didn't do either for fear of soggy meat, but followed the recipe otherwise. These were super tasty and came out nice and tender for me. Hubby never had this before, but said that he would like to have them again...esentially, it's just like eating a breaded pork chop, so if you like that you will most likely enjoy this too. Biting into this, since I haven't had it for a long time, brought back lots of memories! I served them w/ mashed potatoes, gravy and corn. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was good, would will make it again. I made mine with both pork and veal as my mom suggested to me, otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The only thing I changed was that I added some parsley and cayenne pepper to the bread crumbs - and I used panko bread crumbs but I'm from NE Ohio too and this recipe is certainly close to what I grew up with - love that its called city chicken but its not chicken so fun to explain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this recipe at a cooking class - my first attempt at deep frying! They turned out GREAT. Not a meal I'd make on a weeknight, but fun for a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
We loved the entire dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This is awesome! I thought that perhaps I imagined this from my childhood. It's probably one of the only dishes my mother made which was edible. I think ours was all pork, though. I grew up in the Cincinnati burbs. I will have to get my picky husband to try it, but if it's fried and it's meat, I have a better than average chance for success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States