Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is by no means regional to Ohio or Michigan. Any research ive ever done points to central to western Pennsylvania during the depression when chicken was more expensive than veal and pork. Good recipe but I use the family recipe which is similiar except no seasoned salt, brown, bake in 1 cup of milk per pound of skewers. Also double breading anything will cause the second layer to just come off so there is no need for that. If you want your breading to stick coat them the night before and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bressi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love this!!! The only thing I did different was the second time I made this, I left out the seasoned salt and I didn't double dip with the bread crumbs. I don't add a lot of salt to things so the Lawry's was a bit much for me. The bread crumb thing is more trying to hurry up on my part. But it was great even the first time with the Lawry's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was super, super delicious. My mother used to make this when I was growing up and I haven't had it for years. My husband had his first mouthwatering experience with it last night. I purchased a pork loin and cubed it myself. About an hour before frying, I rolled in Italian Panko, then egg, then Panko again. Let it sit in the fridge for about an hour then continued with the recipe. I did leave it covered in the oven about 45 minutes, and uncovered about 20. It was crispy and so tender no knife was needed. Try this one.....you won't be sorry!! Served with Cabbage and Carrot Casserole (AR) and steamed buttered rice. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I haven't made city chicken in over a decade. It just wasn't something that seemed to catch on with my young kids. Recently a friend was talking about making it, so I looked up this recipe and gave it another shot. My teens love it! My youngest asked why we dont do this all the time! I made exactly as stated, except didnt have seasoned crumbs so I seasoned some plain ones myself. This will go on a regular rotation now. Very easy, not too time consuming, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I too grew up in the Midwest and remember my mom making this when I was a child with pork and veal cubes. I prepared exactly as indicated and found it to be a trip back to my childhood. The meat was tender and moist but the breading crisp as a result of the last step. I think the next time I make it I will marinate with garlic overnight as previously suggested and then maybe try panko crumbs dolled up with my own blend of seasoning. I also think I will bake over chicken stock instead of plain water. If I really want to feel guilty I might make a gravy using the bits left in the pan after browning along with the baking stock. I closed my eyes and thought I was back in my mother's kitchen. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
The meat came out tough. I paid $8.00/lb. so I don't think it was the actual meat. I'll try one of the other recipes with the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
what can I say but Great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I'm from Pittsburgh, grew up w/ these and just love them! Our grocery stores do sell the meat already cubed w/ the sticks, so It's makes life a little easier. This is basically the way that my mom always made these, except she never double dipped them and never used the water, which I didn't do either for fear of soggy meat, but followed the recipe otherwise. These were super tasty and came out nice and tender for me. Hubby never had this before, but said that he would like to have them again...esentially, it's just like eating a breaded pork chop, so if you like that you will most likely enjoy this too. Biting into this, since I haven't had it for a long time, brought back lots of memories! I served them w/ mashed potatoes, gravy and corn. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was good, would will make it again. I made mine with both pork and veal as my mom suggested to me, otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The only thing I changed was that I added some parsley and cayenne pepper to the bread crumbs - and I used panko bread crumbs but I'm from NE Ohio too and this recipe is certainly close to what I grew up with - love that its called city chicken but its not chicken so fun to explain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States