Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Cooked it basically just like the recipe states. My husband and I will definitely eat this again. We used pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have never heard of City Chicken, I was looking for a recipe for pork and came across this. First time, and it was a delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applezo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight. Only used season salt and very good! Nice and moist with good flavor. Going in my favorites. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I have never had these as a child...and my husband said they are the best. Made some this weekend and they were DELISH! I LOVE VEAL AND PORK TOGETHER. WILL BE MAKING MORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
From Natrona Heights, Pa this was exactly my Mom's recipe. Don't change anything in this recipe. It's wondeful and brought back my childhood memories of mom in the kitchen with her apron on and the smell coming out of the oven. EXCELLENT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use veal to make this since my family cannot have pork. I tried it once fried and once baked. Family loved both. It is a coin toss to bake or fry whenever I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
ido around 25 just about the same way .after i fry them untill brown on all 4 sides. iput them in a roasting pan and cover them in cream of chicken soup. let bake about 1 and a half hrs on 350. they come out so tender plus you have the gravey for mashed potatos. give it a try . it's awsome. lorain ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is by no means regional to Ohio or Michigan. Any research ive ever done points to central to western Pennsylvania during the depression when chicken was more expensive than veal and pork. Good recipe but I use the family recipe which is similiar except no seasoned salt, brown, bake in 1 cup of milk per pound of skewers. Also double breading anything will cause the second layer to just come off so there is no need for that. If you want your breading to stick coat them the night before and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bressi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I love this!!! The only thing I did different was the second time I made this, I left out the seasoned salt and I didn't double dip with the bread crumbs. I don't add a lot of salt to things so the Lawry's was a bit much for me. The bread crumb thing is more trying to hurry up on my part. But it was great even the first time with the Lawry's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was super, super delicious. My mother used to make this when I was growing up and I haven't had it for years. My husband had his first mouthwatering experience with it last night. I purchased a pork loin and cubed it myself. About an hour before frying, I rolled in Italian Panko, then egg, then Panko again. Let it sit in the fridge for about an hour then continued with the recipe. I did leave it covered in the oven about 45 minutes, and uncovered about 20. It was crispy and so tender no knife was needed. Try this one.....you won't be sorry!! Served with Cabbage and Carrot Casserole (AR) and steamed buttered rice. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States