Best City Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Checking in here from Cleveland (grew up there). My mom used to make these and we called them City Chicken. She made with veal and pork, but after browning she added two cans of cream of mushroom soup and a can of sliced mushrooms. I came on here because I couldn't remember if you used flour to bread them or breadcrumbs, and I couldn't remember how long to bake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
After all of the prep, we were very disappointed in the outcome - the meat was overcooked - the flavor was good, though...have one more package of city chicken meat left and next time will reduce baking time by at least 10 minutes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
First timer. I ate it all which says it all. Thanks for posting. Times and temperatures are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Cooked it basically just like the recipe states. My husband and I will definitely eat this again. We used pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have never heard of City Chicken, I was looking for a recipe for pork and came across this. First time, and it was a delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by applezo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cayce, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Just made this for dinner tonight. Only used season salt and very good! Nice and moist with good flavor. Going in my favorites. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I have never had these as a child...and my husband said they are the best. Made some this weekend and they were DELISH! I LOVE VEAL AND PORK TOGETHER. WILL BE MAKING MORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
From Natrona Heights, Pa this was exactly my Mom's recipe. Don't change anything in this recipe. It's wondeful and brought back my childhood memories of mom in the kitchen with her apron on and the smell coming out of the oven. EXCELLENT :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I use veal to make this since my family cannot have pork. I tried it once fried and once baked. Family loved both. It is a coin toss to bake or fry whenever I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAouita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
ido around 25 just about the same way .after i fry them untill brown on all 4 sides. iput them in a roasting pan and cover them in cream of chicken soup. let bake about 1 and a half hrs on 350. they come out so tender plus you have the gravey for mashed potatos. give it a try . it's awsome. lorain ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Chef John's City Chicken

See what happens when a small town drumstick goes to the big city.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States