Best Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I have tried at least 10 different chocolate bundt cake recipes over the years and this is the best yet!!!!!! Involves a bit more work with beating egg whites, but well worth it! This cake is very moist & the cinnamon gives it a special taste. Simply the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I thought this was a great cake. I love it when it first comes out of the oven. It has a great chocolate taste, but it's not strong. I did try the cake with a chocolate icing recipe from the back of a package: Hershey's Chocolate Cocoa (for baking), and I added choped almonds. After the cake had time to cool the next day, that was the end of it. Absolutely delicious. The cake was gone in two days. Some reviews I read suggested that the cake was not so much of a pound cake, but more light and springy. If you want more of a pound cake texture, just sift the dry ingredients twice, where it calls for sifting in the recipe, I have tried it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! I modified it only slightly, because I was ill-prepared. I used 1 1/2 cups of butter instead of shortening and butter, and I used 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla because I forgot to buy almond extract.I also used a bundt cake pan and put fresh strawberries in the middle and then served it with whipped cream. I was told "this is the best cake I've ever had, EVER!!" by my sister in law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
This cake has a nice flavor and consistency if you're not looking for a traditional pound cake. In other words, it is light and springy with a subtle flavor, not dense, moist, and chocolatey. Once I readjusted my thinking, I found it to be a nice change of pace. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these for an office christmas party and everyone loved them! I did follow another suggestion for a yellow pound cake (different recipe) of creaming the butter, shortening, and sugar for 25 minutes. I let the butter get to room temperature first. I also added 1 tablespoon and 1/4 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk and allowed to get to room temp to become sour milk, as she had suggested is similar to buttermilk. The only difference between the two cakes was that I used regular sugar on this one. Next time I will be using confectioner's sugar instead because it causes the creamed mixture to be more light and fluffy than the granulated sugar. I'm making this cake again for my decorating class :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This cake is delicious, very moist and now our family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2000
I tried this recipe 3 different times. Its isnt a bad cake at all. A bit dry and never seems to bake fully without going dry. Nice flavour and texture. Would be wonderful with a pudding over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Everyone that I have made this recipe for has just loved it. It is a moist and tasty version of my favorite dessert, pound cake. I dont think I would change anything about it really. I do sift the flour and have used cake flour to make sure I have no lumps. The cinnamon, I added a heaping measurement. It takes this pound cake over the edge. It is perfect for any occasion. Thank you Mary Ann !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I just made this recipe and turns out perfect..Very moist.My daugther like it much..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Pretty good. It's a light pound cake and I was looking more for a traditional one. I was hoping for a stronger chocolate flavor, so next time I may not put in the cinnamon and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States