Best Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
As the others have said, this isn't much of a *pound cake* per say. It's a little light and pretty dry....and it was done long before the timer went off. The cake is wonderfully smooth though, so thumbs up for that! I added chocolate chips, and think it would be delicious with some chocolate buttercream frosting. I won't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I thought this was a great cake. I love it when it first comes out of the oven. It has a great chocolate taste, but it's not strong. I did try the cake with a chocolate icing recipe from the back of a package: Hershey's Chocolate Cocoa (for baking), and I added choped almonds. After the cake had time to cool the next day, that was the end of it. Absolutely delicious. The cake was gone in two days. Some reviews I read suggested that the cake was not so much of a pound cake, but more light and springy. If you want more of a pound cake texture, just sift the dry ingredients twice, where it calls for sifting in the recipe, I have tried it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I switched the yolks and the whites by accident and I think it was even better! All around a good cake, but not much oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This cake has a great taste, but has more of a bread texture. For the topping, I melted 1c. of chocolate chips, 2 Tbsp. butter and 2 Tbsp. peanut butter. It made a sort of glaze and I drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Pretty good. It's a light pound cake and I was looking more for a traditional one. I was hoping for a stronger chocolate flavor, so next time I may not put in the cinnamon and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This cake tasted pretty good, but is very suceptible to falling (or caving in the middle). I don't recommend making cupcakes out of this recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I wouldn't classify this cake as a pound cake. However, if you put on some chocolate frosting, you would have a good tasting chocolate cake, but I definitely would not consider this a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Delicious! I baked half the recipe in a dark pan for 1 hour, still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
every one loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This cake is delicious, very moist and now our family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States